Community discussions

MikroTik App

Dezoteck55
just joined
Topic Author

ATL LTE18 unresponsive after initial setup worked

Tue Mar 05, 2024 1:03 pm

(Post edited on 22-03-2024 for coherency, clarity, reworded subjective comments for accuracy, removed false accusations etc., should retain originality otherwise)

Hello

I'm new here and this is first time I'm using any kind of a serious Cell / Mobile Internet antenna / modem device and I'm totally new to Mikrotik and RouterOS products.
I'm however relatively well experienced with all things PC/Windows/Linux (including sysadmin / maintenance / troubleshooting / hardware setup and repair) and Home (SOHO) Router configuration and tweaking in general. I lack professional (enterprise) networking experience, so on the networking side I'm rather basic to mediocre.

I was able to do the initial quick setup of the ATL LTE18 Kit.
I was able to log in via WebFig, initially using EndeavourOS (ArchLinux)
The modem shipped with a version from September 2023 - I forgot now exactly which one but I think it was 7.7

Followed the instructions: I changed the password, entered the SIM PIN number, and LTE1 started working on the ATL but no WAN for LAN clients, then I clicked various buttons to "Check For Updates".
It offered version 7.12 I think, which wasn't the latest, I didn't want to upgrade just yet and proceeded to familiarize with the rest of the GUI, navigating around other settings.

A few minutes later while navigating the WebFig, I wasn't able to re-login and the whole device ended up being inaccessible. I don't know if I did something wrong, I definitely didn't hit "reset configuration" nor did I apply any settings. I tried on a Windows 10 PC as well, same problem. Configuration via SSH or Winbox is not possible either. As far I'm concerned I think it's some kind of a bug.

Inspecting with Wireshark reveals recurring TCP retransmissions and basically no response from the ATL LTE18 modem.