Community discussions

MikroTik App

mrforest
just joined
Topic Author

Share WAN port between 2 interfaces

Fri Mar 08, 2024 8:30 pm

Hi folks,

I've just picked up a hAP ax lite LTE6 and am wondering if this type setup would work.

I have a GPON fibre connection, and my ISP provides me with an ONT device in bridged mode with only 1 port enabled.

Due to some crazy power issues here, i'd like to try run an additional, lower powered Mikrotik router as a backup off my ONT's 1 port.

This basically means I will be dialing 2 PPPOE connections (which my ISP allows) off the 1 port from 2 separate devices.

To put it simply, in the below image, I am trying to place 2 routers on a switch, but i'd like to replace the switch with the one mikrotik router.

This would hopefully replace the need for a separate switch by allowing me to connect the one router to a port on the mikrotik, and have that port be bridged straight through to the ONT.

Could anyone please help a total noob on if this is even possible?

rplant

Re: Share WAN port between 2 interfaces

Sun Mar 10, 2024 12:02 am

Yes it is possible.

Ideally use Winbox, or webfig to configure the router.

Non optimal solution, (but likely near enough)

Summary
Add a new 2 port bridge for Wan connection, create and connect a pppoe client to it.

Roughly what I would do:
Starting from the Mikrotik default configuration with a recent version of RouterOS.

Optional
Quickset: Set up a new LAN IP address and DHCP server configuration (only)
Note
Quickset is often flaky, this function usually works, will need to
disconnect ethernet cable from laptop briefly after applying change to
acquire new IP Address.

Setup
  • Wifi: Disable Wifi interfaces. (Or configure as required)
  • Bridge: Make a second bridge named bridgewan, turn off RSTP on the new bridge.
  • Bridge/ Ports: Add ether1 and move ether2 to the bridgewan
  • Interfaces: Possibly Add a vlan interface, and attach it to bridgewan (if pppoe needs to be on a VLAN)