Community discussions

MikroTik App

OKNET
Topic Author

hAP-ax3 vs cAP ax

Fri Mar 15, 2024 10:44 am

What would you use as AP to serve 200+ users ?
Switch chip/CPU is the same and specs are very similar....
Radio coverage differences ?

Kindis

Re: hAP-ax3 vs cAP ax

Fri Mar 15, 2024 11:17 am

Now I'm no expert here but 200+ on a single AP sound like trouble if you ask me.

Where is this to be used? large room or outside? Regardless of this having so many users on one (or in this case two radios) is a lot I would claim.

holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Fri Mar 15, 2024 11:22 am

Absolutely right.
200+ users for 1 AP is madness (or recipe for self-torture ? Some may like it ...).

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Sat Mar 16, 2024 5:24 pm

Not sure about latest renditions of WIFI, but most devices probably have a useful limit of around 20-30 active devices. Some devices are specifically made for larger numbers but that is a niche market.(ruckus comes to mind). With newer technologies mu-mimo and latest 6e and 7 technology, dont know. Limiting factors are lowest speed/standard some users may be interacting with the AP.........the number of SSIDs you have, the number of antennas/chains etc...........

Chew on this: https://www.ruckusnetworks.com/products ... ints/r850/ roughly $1835
If your requirement is for real, then you need to pony up for the performance.
If this is a homework questions, do your own school work.

UkRainUa

Sun Mar 17, 2024 3:02 am

Powering
Number of DC inputs 2 (DC jack, PoE-IN)
DC jack input Voltage 18-57 V
Max power consumption 36 W
Max power consumption without attachments 11 W
Cooling type Passive
PoE in 802.3af/at

PoE-out
PoE-out ports Ether2
PoE out Passive PoE up to 57V

https://mikrotik.com/product/cap_ax

Scoox

Tue Mar 19, 2024 12:28 am