Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
trystan
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 6:10 pm
Location: United Kingdom

HotSpot Setup Howto

Thu Jun 24, 2004 5:07 pm

HotSpot Setup Howto


This little guide takes you through a step-by-step approach to setting up a simple hotspot using the excellent MikroTik RouterOS software. Some detail and explanations are left out to keep things clearer. This guide assumes that you have installed RouterOS v2.8.7 and upwards.
[admin@MikroTik] > system reset
(The system restores itself to a clean install state and reboots)

Let’s see what interfaces we have on the computer:
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface print

Flags: X – disabled, D – Dynamic, R - Running
#   NAME   		TYPE  	MTU
0 X ether1 		ether 	1500
1 X ether2 		ether 	1500
(You can see that there are two Ethernet ports on this computer, both disabled)
So let’s enable them both:
[admin@MikroTik]  interface> set 0,1 disabled=no
[admin@MikroTik]  interface> print

Flags: X – disabled, D – Dynamic, R - Running
#   NAME   		TYPE  	MTU
0 R ether1 		ether 	1500
1 R ether2 		ether 	1500
Let’s give the Ethernet ports names, as it’s getting complicated already:
[admin@MikroTik]  interface> set 0 name=”hotspot”
[admin@MikroTik]  interface> set 1 name=”internet”
[admin@MikroTik]  interface> print

Flags: X – disabled, D – Dynamic, R - Running
#   NAME        	TYPE    	MTU
0 R internet    	ether   	1500
1 R hotspot     	ether   	1500
We can now more easily refer to the interfaces by name, which is also easier to remember. Now, let’s set up the address of Ethernet card on the internet side. In this case, we’re going to call the MikroTik box 192.168.1.2 and the gateway (ie the broadband router) as 192.168.1.1 and the DNS given to you by your ISP. In this case, our example is using the DNS from Plusnet of 212.159.13.50
[admin@MikroTik] > /ip
[admin@MikroTik]  ip> address add address=192.168.1.2/24 interface=internet
[admin@MikroTik]  ip> route add gateway=192.168.1.1
[admin@MikroTik]  ip> dns
[admin@MikroTik]  ip dns> set primary-dns=212.159.13.50
[admin@MikroTik]  ip dns> set secondary-dns=212.159.11.50
To speed things up a little, you can cache dns requests local to the MikroTik box as follows:
[admin@MikroTik]  ip dns> set allow-remote-requests=yes
[admin@MikroTik]  ip dns> ..
Now set up the hotspot side:
[admin@MikroTik]  ip> hotspot
[admin@MikroTik]  ip hotspot> setup
Select interface on which to run HotSpot
Hotspot interface: hotspot
Enable universal client configuration? 
Enable universal client: yes
This is a feature that allows remote computers to connect even if they have totally different network settings already set up on them
Local address of hotspot network gateway: 10.5.50.1/24
Masquerade hotspot network: yes
Address pool of hotspot network will be: 10.5.50.2-10.5.50.254
ip address of smtp server: 192.168.1.3
(We have to enter here the IP address of your ISP SMTP server, or otherwise put the address of your local one. If you don’t have one, then just give it an an address on the “internet” side of the MikroTik box)
Use local DNS cache?
use local DNS cache: yes
Setup DNS Configuration
dns servers: 192.168.1.2
We enter here the IP address of the MikroTik box on the "internet" side, becasue we have already set up a DNS cache earlier.
Name of hotspot user: admin
Password for the user: admin
(This is the hotspot administrator username and password – keep the details safe)
Select another port for (www) service
Another port for service: 8081
The port that you specify here is the port for Winbox.
Use transparent web proxy for hotspot clients?
Use transparent web proxy: yes
And that’s about it. Connect to your MikroTik box from either the internet side using the address of http://192.168.1.2:8081 or on the hotspot side (use your admin password).

Download the Winbox from that link, and go to the Hotspot section to manage users.

And there you have it – your Hotspot.
 
hzeid
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:57 am
Location: Lebanon

need another how to setup from u?

Thu Oct 14, 2004 9:48 am

HI THERE THANKS A LOT FOR THE HOTSPOT HOWTO SETUP GUIDE AND IT WAS VERY HELPFULL. CAN U MANAGE ANOTHER SETUP GUIDE FOR THE PPPOE AND I WOULD BE VERY THANKFULL. AGAIN THANKS A LOT AND GOOD LUCK.
 
Justin_Wagz
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 8:38 am

Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:33 am

Is it possible to setup the Hotspot utility using Winbox? I tried to get it to work for awhile but never succeeded.
 
swanto
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:22 pm

Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:40 am

Yes, we can setup hotspot thru winbox.

winbox/ip/hotspot/setup.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], CoMMyz, NotAdad and 153 guests