Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
e2346437
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:35 am

Marking Packets in v2 versus v3

Thu May 15, 2008 12:20 am

Hey Folks,
I'm adding VOIP priority to all the Mikrotik routers between my customers and my head end. I've just deployed a version 3.0 RB333 as an access point on a tower. It is configured with a WLAN interface, an Ether1 interface, and is bridging traffic from the WLAN to Ether1. From there it goes to a core MT router running 2.9.43.

I have deployed this config to mark the VOIP packets on the MT Access Point bridge and the core router:

/ip firewall mangle
add action=mark-packet chain=forward comment="" disabled=no \
new-packet-mark=VOIP passthrough=no src-address=64.x.x.x
add action=mark-packet chain=forward comment="" disabled=no \
dst-address=64.x.x.x new-packet-mark=VOIP passthrough=no

The problem is that the version 3.0 Mikrotik does not detect any VOIP packets, as evidenced by the lack of a packet count. However, the version 2.9.43 core router with the same config does detect and mark packets.

My colleaugue said, well, maybe MT bridges can't mark VOIP packets, but I proved him wrong by deploying the packet-mark config on an upstream version 2.9.43 bridge and it works just fine. The only problem is getting it to work on version 3.0.

I can verify that there is VOIP traffic on the AP as I can Torch the traffic.

So folks, what am I doing wrong? Is there something I should be doing differently? What should I try?

Thanks,
Eric
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8383
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Marking Packets in v2 versus v3

Thu May 15, 2008 2:50 am

/interface bridge settings set use-ip-firewall=yes
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
e2346437
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:35 am

Re: Marking Packets in v2 versus v3

Thu May 15, 2008 3:12 am

Thanks, that worked! What is the nature of this command? Why is it there?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Marking Packets in v2 versus v3

Thu May 15, 2008 11:21 am

if you want your bridge traffic to be passed ip (OSI layer 3) filtering, then you set this value, otherwise bridge traffic is considered to be mac traffic (OSI layer 2)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alber, Google [Bot], ichihaifu and 136 guests