Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
DuDuS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: POLAND
Contact:

southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Wed May 28, 2008 9:46 am

Hello all.

Does anyone tried to install ROS higher version than 3.1 on motherboard with southbridge ICH9 on USB flash?
Only information: "Loading system" and hang up.
For me only workable version is 3.1. MT says that is the driver problem in kernel that they use.
They can't say nothing about when it will be fixed.

Any other expirence ?

My motherboard - Supermicro X7SBE (great hardware).

Meaby MT knows something more than last?

Please for help!
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24666
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Wed May 28, 2008 9:53 am

Yes, this is known. Supposedly it has something to do with the new kernel that was used. We will see how to fix it
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
DuDuS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: POLAND
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Wed May 28, 2008 9:59 am

Thank You Normis !

I'm waiting for some good info :)

Best regards
 
User avatar
DuDuS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: POLAND
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:38 pm

Hi MT Team.

How is working progress? Any chance for 3.11 without ICH9 problem?

Best regards
 
User avatar
DuDuS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: POLAND
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:24 pm

Normis can You give me some information?

I'm waiting with 5 new routers, can't install them in user environment.
 
User avatar
DuDuS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: POLAND
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:40 am

so there is 3.11 ......

hopefully updated and... "Loading system Error loading operating system"
there is a change, but still doesn't working !

MT Team when it will be working on ICH9 and USB stick ?!?!?!

please for some comment
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24666
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:42 am

ICH9 doesn't make good friends with linux ... no idea how to fix it.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
DuDuS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: POLAND
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:45 am

meaby ROS 3.1 is the answer?
this version works

You are proffesional You must know how to fix it!

wich version of kernel is used in ROS ?

any one have similar problem?
 
User avatar
DuDuS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: POLAND
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:01 pm

3.12 - problem with ICH9 still not repaired...
MT team do You even tried to repaird this bug?
Can You just upgrade the kernel? (it should solve the problem)

We have problem to buy good motherboard with old ICH8 southbridge...
Every new motherboard has now new southbrige.
And We don't want to invest in old hardware too...

We have about 20 units in real environment with ROS 3.1 (only this version working) and we can't upgrade to never version...

Waiting for some good info.

Regards
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3823
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:49 am

i believe this is a problem with the intel driver in the kernel, it supports pata and sata in the same module. I believe you have at blacklist modules in kernel for it to work. 'blacklist ata_piix' or something like that. I ran into this problem with Debian and a CF-Sata adapter, it would see the device but time out like crazy because two drivers were trying to handle the same hardware. I am also using x7sbe - excellent motherboard.

Is it possible to modify the kernel commandline parameters upon boot on MT? Anyone ever modified the boot manager config?
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3823
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:51 am

ps - can you install stock debian etchandahalf (2.6.24) on that ICH9 and it works ? That would be a good test to see if its mikrotik specific or not.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
DuDuS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: POLAND
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:55 pm

Hi changeip

I will try to install debian in monday...
I don't understand that mt team can't repair this problem since 3.2 version...

PS. Did You use this motherboard?
http://www.supermicro.com/products/moth ... PDSMA+.cfm
ICH8, IDE cotroller... looks better to use with MT
 
onowojemma
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 5:27 pm
Location: Nigeria

Problem with USB

Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:05 am

Hi normis,
I install ROS3.13 on a usb flash disk but it take long time to boot it will display loading system and will would stay for like 10 min and later display some other thing and start services what could be the problem could it be a bug?
Mikrotik! making networking easy
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24666
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Problem with USB

Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:50 pm

Hi normis,
I install ROS3.13 on a usb flash disk but it take long time to boot it will display loading system and will would stay for like 10 min and later display some other thing and start services what could be the problem could it be a bug?
make sure your USB stick is USB2.0 and that the port is also USB2.0
then try another stick in another PC, maybe one of the devices you tried is faulty.

We just tested USB flash with RouterOS and it worked fine
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8421
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:45 pm

well, one of our USB-installed routers boots about 2-3 minutes (the others - about 40 secs)... maybe some chipset-specific bug...
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
DuDuS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: POLAND
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:26 pm

onowojemma if You have motherboard with ICH9 southbridge it is impossible to run ROS higher that 3.1 version
we still waiting for repair this problem by MT team...
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8421
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:20 pm

DuDuS, ICH9 is the problem only if you use IDE disks. it doesn't affect USB disks
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
DuDuS
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: POLAND
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:21 pm

hi chupaka, we have problem only with USB drivers (pendrives) ide/sata disks works fine for us
we tested 6 different flash drives and no one works.
MT know that the problem is there (kernel problem).

Regards
Michal
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8421
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:09 pm

well, our ICH9-based router works in opposite way: USB is working fine, and IDE - no =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
onowojemma
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 5:27 pm
Location: Nigeria

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:11 pm

Thanks for all the reply i try out another flash disk and the boot time reduces but nt still like IDE
well, our ICH9-based router works in opposite way: USB is working fine, and IDE - no =)
Mikrotik! making networking easy
 
User avatar
parrini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Bahia, Brazil

Re: southbridge ICH9 and MT>3.1

Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:34 am

Anyone tested this (USB or Sata+CF) on ICH9 against 3.14? It's getting really hard to find older motherboards and I am reluctant to buy new ones...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dehale, hsd75 and 78 guests