Community discussions

 
cryptinitedemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 6:15 pm

Does this program support SNMP traps?

Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:31 pm

So everyone keeps saying the betas support it. Does it actually and how do I set it up? I already have my routers forwarding trap info to my IP address. What else do I have to do?
 
cryptinitedemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 6:15 pm

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:50 pm

Anyone?
 
nms_user
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:50 pm

Same question here.

My experience: Syslog-functionality != snmp-trap.
Syslog listens on port 514 UDP per default, snmp-traps are sent to port 162 UDP. When i configure Dude's syslog-server to listen on this port 162, the incoming traps are not readable (messed up).

I don't know about a trap-receiver-option in dude (yet).
 
cryptinitedemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 6:15 pm

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:20 pm

Well I keep seeing old posts from over 2 years ago saying that trap support is coming soon. And then every time I try to find info about it everyone goes all quiet on me like I'm harry potter and have just said Voldemont or something.
 
fearthewopr
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 11:18 pm

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:45 pm

any updates here? I want to have my servers send traps to the dude, and then have the dude send out alerts.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23344
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:36 pm

we are making support for SNMP traps, but it's not supported now, sorry for delays and not answering
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lajf
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:13 am

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:20 pm

Is there any new information about supporting snmp traps?

Is there any timedate for this feature?

Thanks for the answer.
 
FIPTech
Member
Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:53 am

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 3:01 pm

I would be interested as well in SNMP trap feature.

For rare evenements, it is very bandwith consumming to pool SNMP with a dude probe. SNMP polling is most of the time a waste of bandwith.
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:58 am

Well I keep seeing old posts from over 2 years ago saying that trap support is coming soon. And then every time I try to find info about it everyone goes all quiet on me like I'm harry potter and have just said Voldemont or something.
Like great wizard once said, ROS support for SNMP traps is not late, it'll be delivered to us precisely when they mean to.
 
lajf
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:13 am

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:11 am

So nothing new on this feature?

Is there any news about working on this feature?

We use dude for monitoring our network elements and its working great, so this feature will be very helpful.
 
gr8boy
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:39 pm

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:47 pm

Ok, The dude does not support SNMP traps yet.

Can anyone recommend some other application for traps that is free? What are you using now?
 
User avatar
gsandul
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:28 am

Can anyone recommend some other application for traps that is free? What are you using now?
You can use net-snmp as a trap handler and simple script to translate received messages to The Dude Syslog server.
dude_and_traps.png
You can also make a notification when translated message is received (based on syslog processing rules)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
anaktos
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:55 pm
Location: Rosario - Argentina

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:40 pm

Some tips to configure net-snmp in windows?
______
MTCNA
 
User avatar
gsandul
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:39 pm

Some tips to configure net-snmp in windows?
Ok.
Let assume net-snmp should be installed on the Windows server, where The Dude is running.

1) Download and install by default net-snmp http://www.net-snmp.org/.
2) Run c:\usr\registertrapd.bat it will setup windows service named "Net-SNMP Trap Handler"
3) Edit C:\usr\etc\snmp\snmptrapd.conf
ignoreauthfailure  yes
disableAuthorization yes
authCommunity log,execute,net public
traphandle default C:\Python27\python.exe C:\usr\etc\snmp\handler.py
This will accept traps from any device and will redirect received trap to python script.
handler.py should have following code
import sys
import socket
import time 

host='127.0.0.1'
port = 514
trapdata = sys.stdin.read()

#   Uncoment for debug
#f = open('c:\snmptrapdlog.txt', 'a')
#f.write("------ " +time.strftime('%X %x') + " ---- New trap received\n")
#f.write(trapdata)
#f.close()

result_trap = ''
for datastr in trapdata.split('\n'):
	result_trap = result_trap + datastr + ';\n'

sock = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_DGRAM)
sock.sendto(str(result_trap), (host, port))
sock.close()
4) Download and install python 2.7. http://www.python.org/getit/releases/2.7/
5) Make new log file in The Dude
NewLog.png
6) Make new notification
NewNotif.png
7) Make new syslog rule
syslog_rule.png
8 ) Start "Net-SNMP Trap Handler" or C:\usr\bin\snmptrapd.exe (the last one for debug)
9) The default net SNMP installation has only basic MIB's for Traps. To add more traps for different equipement consult yourself on http://www.net-snmp.org/ how to add new MIB's support.
10) Read net-snmp documentation to make it more secure or setup firewall.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
anaktos
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:55 pm
Location: Rosario - Argentina

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:51 pm

Excellent, as in the beta 3 version is not fixed it will try to follow your instructions to see if I can make it work.
Tanks!!!
______
MTCNA
 
plethoras
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Orléans, France

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:05 pm

I am trying to make a snmptrap log but i have some problems. I uncomment the debug part of the .py and I get the snmptraplog.txt with correct information but i have nothing in my trap log in Dude.
Is this solution only for the 4.x beta? (I dont have the enable check in the notification creation panel)

Thanks and sorry for my english ;)
 
rhance
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:16 pm

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Fri Apr 06, 2012 9:53 pm

This is a big missing feature and this thread is old. When will this feature be added? Adding another piece of software into the mix is a bit ridiculous. Can we please get support for SNMP traps in The Dude?
 
rasha
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 2:16 pm

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Thu Mar 03, 2016 2:33 pm

Is this solution only for the 4.x beta? (I dont have the enable check in the notification creation panel
 
User avatar
machack
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:35 pm
Location: San Luis Argentina

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:46 am

we are making support for SNMP traps, but it's not supported now, sorry for delays and not answering
in version 6.41 work?
Cesar Javier Robles
www.WindNet.com.ar
MTCNA - MTCTCE - MTCRE - MTCWE
 
MikrotikOdessa
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:44 pm

Waiting for trap support...
 
User avatar
WildCat
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:45 pm
Location: RU

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:52 am

Guys?
This thread is 10 years old.
It's a very important feature to ignore it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests