Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
iraq_soul
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: iraq

problem with 16 km link p2p

Tue May 12, 2009 5:17 pm

hi all
I have a 16km link 2 RB 600 ppc 3.10 with 2 XR5 600 mW with 90cm dish gain 31dB.
The signal is excellent-45/-48 dBm and signal to noise about 56.
The RB600 mode is ap bridge / bridge Turbo mode 5 GHz.
The problem is the throughput is very low about 6Mb/s Maximum.
the link ping is 1 ms when its 5 Mbit/s or less and the link 54Mb/54Mb or 48Mb/48Mb
but when the load reach 6 Mbit/s the ping will go high about 500 and the link will be 6Mb/6Mb or 6Mb/9Mb and the throughput will be less than 3 Mbit/s
from the registration table we see :

interface=wlan1 radio-name="00156D640F10" mac-address=00:15:6D:64:0F:10 ap=yes wds=yes rx-rate="48Mbps*2"
tx-rate="6Mbps*2" packets=1810997,1761683 bytes=230138855,1540657708 frames=1810997,1761683
frame-bytes=219284315,1530087610 hw-frames=2262648,1764188 hw-frame-bytes=325879019,1572465554 tx-frames-timed-out=0
uptime=41m34s last-activity=0s signal-strength=-49dBm@6Mbps signal-to-noise=54dB
strength-at-rates=-49dBm@6Mbps 90ms,-46dBm@9Mbps 1m25s440ms,-46dBm@12Mbps 1m14s100ms,-46dBm@18Mbps 24s240ms,-
46dBm@24Mbps 11s130ms,-50dBm@36Mbps 11s110ms,-53dBm@48Mbps 0s,-52dBm@54Mbps 20ms
tx-signal-strength=-46dBm tx-ccq=47% rx-ccq=90% p-throughput=5998 ack-timeout=204 nstreme=no framing-mode=none
routeros-version="3.10" last-ip=87.248.104.105 802.1x-port-enabled=yes compression=no wmm-enabled=no

and the wireless setting is:

0 R name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:15:6D:64:4E:C2 arp=enabled interface-type=Atheros AR5413 mode=bridge ssid="IRAQ"
frequency=5800 band=5ghz-turbo scan-list=default antenna-mode=ant-a wds-mode=static wds-default-bridge=bridge1
wds-ignore-ssid=yes default-authentication=yes default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0
default-client-tx-limit=0 hide-ssid=no security-profile=default compression=no

i think its clear
thank you in recent for your reply
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1967
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: problem with 16 km link p2p

Tue May 12, 2009 7:56 pm

activate nstreme, disable csma, compression on. You should get 70mbps.
 
RK
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada and Central America

Re: problem with 16 km link p2p

Wed May 13, 2009 5:30 am

Don't enable compression but do enable nstreme.

Your signal is too strong. Lower output power to be in the -60 area.
Imagine someone screaming directly into your ear - you hear them, but don't understand.
 
iraq_soul
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: iraq

Re: problem with 16 km link p2p

Thu May 14, 2009 10:58 am

Thank you all
i tried to reduce the signal power and i found advantage in throughput and the link is good now.
i will try nstreme later
thank you all again for your support
 
popcorrin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:55 am

Re: problem with 16 km link p2p

Thu May 14, 2009 3:10 pm

Just curious, do you have a 31db dish on both sides of the link?
 
iraq_soul
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: iraq

Re: problem with 16 km link p2p

Thu May 14, 2009 11:19 pm

yes i have 2 dish 31 dB on both side and the signal strength are equal in each side

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests