Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
wireless12
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:49 am

why my mikrotik got hanged most of the times?

Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:01 pm

hii..

i hav got many mikrotik install in my WISP network now, slowly i will make it a complete mikrotik gear only.

mikrotik products are excellent, but i m having a liitle problem in all of them.

my mikrotiks got hanged on regualar base may be in a month or two or may be in a week...but as soon as i power off the POE and agian give back the power it again start working...i mean i hav to reebot the power and again the link is UP... it happnes evry where and anywhere, i dont think that it's a volatge problem becuase evry site dont hav voltage problem, aslo length of cat5-e is not more then 70 mts in any installation. it happnes with a simple AP-Bridge having 20-30 CPE. and with any point to point link also...but i hav noticed this problem occurs more in wireless point to point links. while i hav also got motorola canopy and NS2,NS5 intsalled at few places but i dont see such problem in them.

is there any solution to this...?

thx..
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: why my mikrotik got hanged most of the times?

Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:01 am

I have also similar problem on some location...
I have about 5 RBs on one place and on some RBs mainly ether port freeze I can access it through wlan interface, and after reboot or power reset and it works fine after that...
Sometimes freeze daily 2-3 times sometimes weekly 2-3 times...

I don't know what causing this because I've replaced that RBs with new ones, utp cables, connectors, radio cards, but it doesn't helps...
All RBs are on the same height...
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
wireless12
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:49 am

Re: why my mikrotik got hanged most of the times?

Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:13 am

hiiii...
i think its a huge prob... and there is no sloution to it...m i right normis???

thx..
 
wireless12
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:49 am

Re: why my mikrotik got hanged most of the times?

Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:14 am

really so big that even so called experts are not not willing to answer..
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24317
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: why my mikrotik got hanged most of the times?

Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:18 am

you must connect via Serial Console and see if there is any error message on the screen. Also make sure you are running the latest Bootloader and RouterOS versions on these devices. If yes, you can make a supout.rif file after the hang, and send it to support for analysis
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: why my mikrotik got hanged most of the times?

Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:21 pm

you must connect via Serial Console and see if there is any error message on the screen. Also make sure you are running the latest Bootloader and RouterOS versions on these devices. If yes, you can make a supout.rif file after the hang, and send it to support for analysis
I run always last stable version and upgrade firmware...
It's a little bit impossible to connect on serial console because that RBs are mainly on towers over 20-30 meters, and if I turn it off I can't see anything usefull after restart...

I've send few supout.rif files and support answered mainly like there is nothing strange in configuration...
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
RK
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada and Central America

Re: why my mikrotik got hanged most of the times?

Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:22 pm

Do you have all these routerboards plugged into good UPS devices?
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: why my mikrotik got hanged most of the times?

Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:50 pm

Of course there is 2U Rittal 1kVA UPS...
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: why my mikrotik got hanged most of the times?

Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:10 pm

[Router] > system resource print
                   uptime: 18w1d19h19m8s
                  version: "3.18"
              free-memory: 50696kB
             total-memory: 62524kB
                      cpu: "MIPS 4Kc V0.10"
                cpu-count: 1
            cpu-frequency: 399MHz
                 cpu-load: 28
           free-hdd-space: 26752kB
          total-hdd-space: 61440kB
  write-sect-since-reboot: 2234639
         write-sect-total: 2758092
               bad-blocks: 0
        architecture-name: "mipsle"
               board-name: "RB500R5"
This is an highsite RB powered by solar panels and batteries...
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests