MikroTik App

NetWorker
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Usb port invalid

Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:09 pm

Hi all.

I'll start off by saying that I'm new to Mikrotik and am already in love with you guys! I've setup my RB 411U with a Huawei E226 (like E220) 3G modem in no time and it works great. Except for one minor detail.

Almost every time (I'd say 9 out of 10) I shutdown the router, disconnect the power, and boot up again, the usb port (under system) comes back invalid. A reboot rectifies the problem.

This basically means that every time I power up and boot, I have to reboot. It's not really really a problem. Just a little anoying.

Any one else experiencing this? Has anyone come up with a solution?

uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support

Re: Usb port invalid

Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:48 pm

Are you using the latest RouterOS version?
Can you reproduce it almost every reboot?
Maybe you could provide remote access to that router?
Please contact support@mikrotik.com

NetWorker
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:23 pm

Are you using the latest RouterOS version?
Thanks for the reply uldis. RouterOS version 4.4
Can you reproduce it almost every reboot?
It's basically like this. Every time I shut it down and boot it up again, I have to reboot because the usb port shows invalid in red. After the reboot, everything is fine. It happened once or twice that I didn't have to reboot. Why that was, I have no idea.

I have a theory however. I think it's the modems fault. I believe it needs a couple of seconds to start after receiving power. I don't know exactly how much time after starting to receive power, the RB provides power through the usb.
My theory then is that if the modem starts talking to the RouterOS only after it already boot up, it won't recognize it. And since a reboot doesn't cut the power to the modem, it will recognize it without problems.
Maybe you could provide remote access to that router?