Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
LatinSuD
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

[Suggestion] Distributed public IP pools

Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:29 pm

We have 256 ip addresses but we'd like not to waste them.
Currently each of the small routers (Router1 and Router2) get 128 addresses each. Clients get public ip address by logging into hotspot or pppoe.
                      ____ Router1 - clients
                     /        
Internet - CoreRouter
                     \____ Router2 - clients
This address balancing is not always perfect, as clients dynamically log in and out.
For example if at a certain moment there are 150 active clientes on Router1 we cannot satisfy the demand, even if Router2 had only 50 active clients.

Is there a way that the 256 public ip could be available to both routers?
 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Re: [Suggestion] Distributed public IP pools

Tue Jun 01, 2010 8:50 pm

with public IP you cannot do this
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: [Suggestion] Distributed public IP pools

Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:59 pm

Yes you can!
But you need an external RADIUS server (such as FreeRADIUS) with the radippool module enabled.
That's the config working on my network. (40ish AP with PPPoE server sharing unique IP pool)
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5
 
roadracer96
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:01 am

Re: [Suggestion] Distributed public IP pools

Wed Jun 09, 2010 8:35 am

PPPOE/RADIUS. If you wanted to run the PPPOE server on the individual routers, it would need some routing tricks, but it wouldnt be that bad. Id just run the PPPOE on the core router to make it simple..
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: [Suggestion] Distributed public IP pools

Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:45 am

roadracer96 is correct. You will need some kind of dynamic internal routing on your network. I'm using IBGP mixed with OSPF
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 88 guests