Community discussions

 
liteforce
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:06 pm

IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Sat Jun 05, 2010 9:38 am

Hi,

We recently added a new RouterOS device to our network and as we use iBGP and eBGP, this was the first instance where we have had to use multihop iBGP (all devices were directly connected to each other at this point; this new device is only reachable via routed IPv4/IPv6).

All devices are running RouterOS v4.10.

The problem that I'm seeing is that IPv4 multihop iBGP works absolutely fine as long as the 'target-scope' for a route is set in the incoming filter for that session; routes appear in the routing table as I would expect them to:

'a.a.a.a recursive via b.b.b.b ether1'

Before I figured out that 'target-scope' was the issue, I was seeing a.a.a.a unreachable' instead - nevertheless, IPv4 multihop iBGP is working fine now so I am a happy bunny.

Unfortunately, IPv6 multihop iBGP has got me well and truly stumped.

The same tweak for 'target-scope' on the incoming filter for the v6-only iBGP session does not have the same effect; the filter is definitely working as I am seeing the changes in the 'Attributes' tab in Winbox for all of the routes learnt via that session.

Is anyone out there in RouterOS land willing to share any tips/suggestions/example config that might help me solve this ?

I am happy to post config details if this will help.

Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3801
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:34 pm

try setting the next hop or gateway using routing filters to override whats coming in.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5696
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:24 am

please print one of the IPv6 unresolved routes.
 
liteforce
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:06 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:36 am

try setting the next hop or gateway using routing filters to override whats coming in.
That worked - once I had sorted out some quick VRRP to ensure that the nexthop wasn't a specific routers' IPv6 address; no point in doing BGP if it can't failover to an alternative route!
please print one of the IPv6 unresolved routes.
Reverting back to previous config; I get the following:
[admin@tcw-gw1.man.spilsby.net.uk] > /ipv6 route print where dst-address is 2a01:568:3000::/64
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, 
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, o - ospf, b - bgp, U - unreachable 
 #      DST-ADDRESS              GATEWAY                  DISTANCE
[admin@tcw-gw1.man.spilsby.net.uk] > /ipv6 route print where dst-address is "2a01:568:3000::/64"
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, 
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, o - ospf, b - bgp, U - unreachable 
 #      DST-ADDRESS              GATEWAY                  DISTANCE
[admin@tcw-gw1.man.spilsby.net.uk] >
Going by the above, the route doesn't actually appear via the console but it does appear within Winbox (fields and values copied below):

Dst. Address: 2a01:568:3000::/64
Gateway: 2a01:568:fff:f003:20c:42ff:fe43:739c (unreachable)
Check Gateway: (empty)
Type: unicast

Distance: 200
Scope: 40
Target Scope: 255 (this is being set via incoming route filter like its' IPv4 cousin)

Received From: hex-ipv6-int-gw1

BGP Local Pref.: 100
BGP Origin: EGP (now this confuses me; both routers and their single BGP instances each specify the same AS number - 43950 - so why this is being considered as EGP, I don't know - this should be igp, right ?)

Both routers can ping each other and I can confirm there are currently no traffic filters between them; these only get put in place after issues like this are fixed otherwise you end up diagnosing problems that may not actually exist, etc, etc.

Enabling 'Check Gateway' with method 'ping' doesn't seem to provide any other useful information either :-(

Although, just to assure you that I'm not going mad:
[admin@tcw-gw1.man.spilsby.net.uk] > /ping 2a01:568:fff:f003:20c:42ff:fe43:739c
2a01:568:fff:f003:20c:42ff:fe43:739c 64 byte ping: ttl=63 time=8 ms
2a01:568:fff:f003:20c:42ff:fe43:739c 64 byte ping: ttl=63 time=8 ms
2a01:568:fff:f003:20c:42ff:fe43:739c 64 byte ping: ttl=63 time=8 ms
2a01:568:fff:f003:20c:42ff:fe43:739c 64 byte ping: ttl=63 time=8 ms
4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 8/8.0/8 ms
[admin@tcw-gw1.man.spilsby.net.uk] > /tool traceroute 2a01:568:fff:f003:20c:42ff:fe43:739c
     ADDRESS                                    STATUS
   1 2a01:568:fff:f001:20c:42ff:fe20:7ee4 1ms 1ms 1ms 
   2 2a01:568:fff:f003:20c:42ff:fe43:739c 9ms 9ms 9ms
... and peer config:
[admin@tcw-gw1.man.spilsby.net.uk] > /routing bgp peer export
<snip countless other IPv4/IPv6 peers>
add address-families=ipv6 as-override=no comment="" default-originate=never \
    disabled=no hold-time=3m in-filter=spilsby-tcw-ipv6-multihop-ibgp-in \
    instance=default interface=ether1 multihop=yes name=hex-ipv6-int-gw1 \
    nexthop-choice=force-self out-filter="" passive=no remote-address=\
    2a01:568:fff:f003:20c:42ff:fe43:739c remote-as=43950 remove-private-as=no \
    route-reflect=no tcp-md5-key="" ttl=default use-bfd=no
Config on the remote router is identical (except remote peer address of course!) and a full iBGP mesh is configured between all routers on this AS (all of which are RouterOS 4.10 devices - either RB1000 or RB1100).

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
 
liteforce
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:06 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:59 pm

Once I had sorted out some quick VRRP to ensure that the nexthop wasn't a specific routers' IPv6 address; no point in doing BGP if it can't failover to an alternative route!
Replying to my own post...

VRRP wasn't actually necessary once I realized that a combination of multiple IPv6 nexthops could be set and 'Check Gateway' --> 'ping' would handle any failover automatically.

Quite impressed that it actually worked ;-)

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions[/quote]
 
timoid
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:20 am

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:53 pm

Anyone manage to solve this?

Looks like theres no communication between OSPFv3 and BGP so BGP isnt seeing the interior route?

[admin@hostname] /ipv6 route> print detail where distance=200
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic,
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, o - ospf, b - bgp, U - unreachable
0 Db dst-address=2000:2000::/32 gateway=2403:9000::1:0:0:1000:3
gateway-status=2403:9000::1:0:0:1000:3 unreachable distance=200
scope=40 target-scope=30 bgp-as-path="AS_PATH" bgp-local-pref=1000
bgp-med=0 bgp-origin=igp received-from=IPv6-ACCESS01

1 Db dst-address=2000:2000::/32 gateway=2403:9000::1:0:0:1000:3
gateway-status=2403:9000::1:0:0:1000:3 unreachable distance=200
scope=40 target-scope=30 bgp-as-path="AS_PATH" bgp-local-pref=1000
bgp-med=0 bgp-origin=igp received-from=IPv6-ACCESS02

21 ADo dst-address=2403:9000::1:0:0:1000:0/124 gateway=fe80::222:90ff:fe0c:25f1%vlan0621
gateway-status=fe80::222:90ff:fe0c:25f1%vlan0621 reachable distance=110 scope=20 target-scope=10
ospf-metric=10
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5696
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:48 pm

This is a known bug.
Recursive lookup is not working if gateway is link local address. To make BGP routes work you need static route with global address as gateway.
 
brointhemix
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:04 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:22 pm

Do you plan to fix it or introduce an official workaround for it in an upcoming release?
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:24 am

You can't announce anything with link local addresses in them, they are after all, link local.
Use non link-locals for routing (even for gateway).
Move along. Nothing to see here.
 
brointhemix
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:04 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:20 pm

Hello sten,

Can you provide me with an example as to how to do that? Try as I might, I cannot force my MTs to accept a global unique next hop over a link-local one...
 
marcof
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:50 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:40 pm

Hi,

Is there any update on this? I just faced this bug, in 5.18! This is really basic routing stuff, working on every other system I know. What's the problem that RouterOS cannot handle this? OSPFv3 nexthops are always link-local so there is no workaround at all I guess.

It's best practice to use loopback addresses for iBGP, routing the loopback addresses with OSPFv3.

when will this bug be fixed? This is actually a total no-go for MikroTik as BGP Routers (at least if you have more than 1 router).

thanks
marco
 
igwana
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:42 am

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Sat Jul 21, 2012 9:37 pm

Hi,

I have the same problem (running 5.17)

OSPFv3 routes have link-local nexthops (as per RFC) and are not used to recursively resolve nexthops of iBGP routes!

Route filters (using set-in-nexthop-ipv6 in ospf-in chain) are a workaround only if you have no more than one OSPF neighbor because the filter can't determine from which neighbor the route came from and set the nexthop accordingly.

Can we hope this is fixed soon?

The iBGP route with the unresolved nexhop:
35  Db  dst-address=2001:db8::/32 gateway=fc00::2 
        gateway-status=fc00::2 unreachable distance=200 scope=40 
        target-scope=30 bgp-as-path="65000" bgp-local-pref=100 bgp-origin=igp 
        received-from=ibgp_router2 
The route from OSPFv3 that should be used to resolve the nexthop but is not:
32 ADo  dst-address=fc00::2/128 gateway=fe80::a61:702%sit4-vr1 
        gateway-status=fe80::a61:702%sit4-vr1 reachable distance=110 scope=20 
        target-scope=10 ospf-metric=10
 
marcof
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:50 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Tue Jun 04, 2013 11:04 am

Hi,

Months later, routeros 6.0 is released and this problem is still not solved. Did anyone find a good workaround besides adding static routes? static routes is not really a workaround because static routes simply do not work in a redundant network layout!

I would really appriciate to know when this problem is fixed. It's actually a total no-go for BGP dual-stacked backbones with MikroTIK.

thanks
Marco
 
User avatar
paoloaga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:52 am
Location: Vaprio d'Agogna (NO) - Italy
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:16 pm

I also am having big troubles with RouterOS and iBGP with IPv6 due to this issue. Please Mikrotik, consider fixing it!
 
marcof
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:50 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:27 am

I also am having big troubles with RouterOS and iBGP with IPv6 due to this issue. Please Mikrotik, consider fixing it!
You may also write an e-Mail to MT Support about this issue.

It's really sad that such basic stuff does not work. MikroTik needs to change thinking about IPv6, it's nothing new, it's there, years ago and every ISP has or is impelmenting it, now. MikroTik can only be a full alternative to cisco, etc. in the ISP branch when it has at least the simple and basic routing availible and working (and yes, ipv6 is simple).
Please fix it.

thanks
 
User avatar
paoloaga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:52 am
Location: Vaprio d'Agogna (NO) - Italy
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Sat Jun 15, 2013 12:44 pm

I also am having big troubles with RouterOS and iBGP with IPv6 due to this issue. Please Mikrotik, consider fixing it!
You may also write an e-Mail to MT Support about this issue.
I already mailed them a couple of months ago, when I replaced some cisco backbone infrastructure with CCR routers (~ 25 CCR). They answered that it will be fixed in the future.

Actually I am having really big troubles. I started to deploy IPv6 to customers in 2008, and now I have a network with all backbone links and router loopbacks distributed with OSPF and customers routes into BGP. The problem is that it's impossible to use IBGP with IPv6. I can't even redistribute BGP routes into OSPFv3 because OSPFv3 lacks of route-filtering. Actually I had to put a huge number of static routes (!!!!!!) in order to make the iBGP route reachable, and this sucks because static routes are indeed STATIC and it's a nightmare to do maintenance on it.

Probably Mikrotik is underevaluating the importance of this issue. I just hope that they will fix it soon.
 
zimage
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:48 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Tue Sep 24, 2013 6:05 am

The problem still exists in RouterOS 6.3. Upgrading to 6.4 later in the week.
 
zimage
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:48 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Sat Oct 05, 2013 12:15 am

Still occurs with 6.5rc1. I emailed support@ and was told that I simply need to tweak my scope and target-scope values. Not sure what I'm supposed to do in that regard.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5696
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:48 am

Still occurs with 6.5rc1. I emailed support@ and was told that I simply need to tweak my scope and target-scope values. Not sure what I'm supposed to do in that regard.
You do not have problem discussed in this topic. Recursive lookup doesn't work only when nexthop is link-local. You had global nexthops.
 
zimage
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:48 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:42 am

I might be interpreting things wrong, but it looks like the next hops are link local.
 0  Db  dst-address=2001:470:1f10:9a7::/64 gateway=2001:470:c334::b
        gateway-status=2001:470:c334::b unreachable distance=200 scope=40 target-scope=30
        bgp-local-pref=100 bgp-origin=igp received-from=fhl-r3

 1 ADC  dst-address=2001:470:c334::9/128 gateway=loopback gateway-status=loopback reachable
        distance=0 scope=10

 2 ADo  dst-address=2001:470:c334::a/128 gateway=fe80::20c:42ff:feff:5c7d%ether5
        gateway-status=fe80::20c:42ff:feff:5c7d%ether5 reachable distance=110 scope=20
        target-scope=10 ospf-metric=20

 3 ADo  dst-address=2001:470:c334::b/128 gateway=fe80::d6ca:6dff:fe35:d345%ether1
        gateway-status=fe80::d6ca:6dff:fe35:d345%ether1 reachable distance=110 scope=20
        target-scope=10 ospf-metric=20

 4 ADo  dst-address=2001:470:c334::13/128 gateway=fe80::20c:42ff:feff:5c7d%ether5
        gateway-status=fe80::20c:42ff:feff:5c7d%ether5 reachable distance=110 scope=20
        target-scope=10 ospf-metric=30

 5 ADC  dst-address=2001:470:c334:1::/64 gateway=ether1 gateway-status=ether1 reachable distance=0
        scope=10

 6 ADC  dst-address=2001:470:c334:4::/64 gateway=ether5 gateway-status=ether5 reachable distance=0
        scope=10

 7 ADo  dst-address=2001:470:c334:6::/64 gateway=fe80::20c:42ff:feff:5c7d%ether5
        gateway-status=fe80::20c:42ff:feff:5c7d%ether5 reachable distance=110 scope=20
        target-scope=10 ospf-metric=20

 8 ADo  dst-address=2001:470:c334:7::/64 gateway=fe80::20c:42ff:feff:5c7d%ether5
        gateway-status=fe80::20c:42ff:feff:5c7d%ether5 reachable distance=110 scope=20
        target-scope=10 ospf-metric=20

 9 ADo  dst-address=2001:470:c334:b::/64 gateway=fe80::d6ca:6dff:fe73:25ce%ether2
        gateway-status=fe80::d6ca:6dff:fe73:25ce%ether2 reachable distance=110 scope=20
        target-scope=10 ospf-metric=20

10 ADC  dst-address=2001:470:c334:c::/64 gateway=ether2 gateway-status=ether2 reachable distance=0
        scope=10
line 0 is received via iBGP. It's gateway is set to the router's loopback address, 2001:470:c334::b. Line 3 then contains the routing entry for how to get to the router loopback. The gateway is fe80::d6ca:6dff:fe35:d345%ether1, a link-local address. These two routing entries seem a lot like those in igwana's post
 
xxiii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 12:55 am

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:48 pm

I'd just like to add my plea that this get fixed, soon.

I just recently emailed support about this, being unaware of this forum thread, and got the (apparently common) "known issue, will be fixed in the future" response.

I need to know if this is going to be near future, or far future, as this is a show-stopper for us, and the age of this thread has me rather worried.
 
zimage
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:48 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Tue Nov 12, 2013 12:43 am

Same here. We'd like to have full IPv6 support in 2014. We might have to abandon our mikrotik gear and buy something else.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1792
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Sun Jan 19, 2014 11:58 pm

Same here. We'd like to have full IPv6 support in 2014. We might have to abandon our mikrotik gear and buy something else.
Any idea if this bug has been resolved ?
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
brotherdust
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:31 am

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Sun Jan 26, 2014 7:55 am

I was working on a lab this morning attempting to implement this very scenario and ran into the same problem. I would like to see the fix for this issue implemented as this thread is now over three years old.

The workaround of using incoming filters to manually set a link-local hop is not very scalable at all and breaks a number of built-in redundancy features should otherwise be available in this type of setup.

Please, can we get a firm commit from MK staff to resolve this?

Thanks!
 
xxiii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 12:55 am

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:10 pm

This is becoming an increasingly serious problem.
 
asenci
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:11 pm
Location: Auckland/New Zealand

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:00 pm

This is becoming an increasingly serious problem.
And here we are... Deploying IPv6 using static routes... Who would have thought?!
 
AndrewTFry
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:36 am

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:40 am

I'm having the exact same issues. What I don't understand is, why if the router has a valid route to the Loopback of its neighbor can it not use that route to figure out a path to the neighbor for a BGP route to that Loopback? This really needs to be fixed. For all intents and purposes the router knows how to reach the loopback of its neighbor. You can prove that by pinging. Why can't it see that the BGP route is reachable by that address? Fix this quickly please. As others have mentioned OSPFv3 shouldn't even be a feature if it's not going to play nice with BGP.
 
User avatar
paoloaga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:52 am
Location: Vaprio d'Agogna (NO) - Italy
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:39 pm

I'm running out of IPv4 addresses. :-( Hope this will get fixed soon.
 
SwissWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 181
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:16 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Tue May 13, 2014 12:43 pm

I'm running out of IPv4 addresses. :-( Hope this will get fixed soon.
+1
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1792
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Tue May 13, 2014 1:58 pm

+1

ETA please Mikrotik

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5696
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Tue May 13, 2014 2:34 pm

This feature most likely will be implemented in version 7.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1792
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Tue May 13, 2014 2:52 pm

This feature most likely will be implemented in version 7.
Good to hear Maris.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
xxiii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 12:55 am

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Wed May 14, 2014 9:37 pm

Will the (related) OSPFv3 /128/LA-Bit bug also be fixed?
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5696
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu May 15, 2014 10:09 am

Will the (related) OSPFv3 /128/LA-Bit bug also be fixed?
Will be fixed also in v7.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1792
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu May 15, 2014 11:14 am

Will the (related) OSPFv3 /128/LA-Bit bug also be fixed?
Will be fixed also in v7.
Obvious question.. ;) When can we expect v7 ?
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Sun May 18, 2014 10:22 pm

Great question!
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
rickrude
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:58 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu May 22, 2014 4:38 am

Can someone explain the LA-bit bug briefly? Is it related to ospfv3 not importing LSAs with the LA-bit set?? i.e. /128 loopbacks from other vendors?

If so, what are you doing in the meantime? /127s or redistributing connected?

cheers!
 
User avatar
tomaskir
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1102
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu May 22, 2014 10:59 am

And here we are... Deploying IPv6 using static routes... Who would have thought?!
thanks for the laught :D
Unimus - configuration management, automation and backup solution
Mass Config Push, network-wide RouterOS upgrades, and more!
 
xxiii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 12:55 am

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Sat May 24, 2014 2:10 am

Can someone explain the LA-bit bug briefly? Is it related to ospfv3 not importing LSAs with the LA-bit set?? i.e. /128 loopbacks from other vendors?

If so, what are you doing in the meantime? /127s or redistributing connected?
Yes. sadly, static routes, sometimes multiple ones with check-gateway with differing metrics to hopefully capture the most likely failure scenarios. But alas, when there is a hiccup somewhere, most of our routeros devices in the affected part of the topology just drop off the network (on IPv6) until the situation is resolved (alternatively someone could go manually update the static routes).

If you have ciscos you can force the loopback link type to point-to-point and get them to advertise /64's (assuming you used /64's). We have another vendor though that that workaround isn't available, and they insist (as per the RFC requirements) on advertising their loopbacks as /128's with the LA bit set. I've thought about seeing if I could get them to also advertise the companion /64 (perhaps with a redistribute or policy), but I'm hoping this will be fixed before I have to resort to that (or making sure there are no RouterOS devices in the relevant pathways when we get IPv6 connectivity requests).

You could also possibly see if you could strip off the LA-bit on the originating devices.
 
lyma
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:00 am
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Mon Jul 14, 2014 8:59 pm

Will the (related) OSPFv3 /128/LA-Bit bug also be fixed?
Will be fixed also in v7.
Obvious question.. ;) When can we expect v7 ?
Great question... ping timeout!
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5696
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:52 pm

When its ready :D
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1792
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Wed Jul 16, 2014 3:20 am

When its ready :D
haha classic Mikrotik ;)
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
paoloaga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:52 am
Location: Vaprio d'Agogna (NO) - Italy
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Wed Dec 03, 2014 1:30 am

Is there any news about a fix for V6.x or about the new V7? My network is screaming in pain!
 
cegner
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 2:34 pm

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:40 pm

Is there any workaround besides configuring static routes?
 
lyma
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:00 am
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Wed Dec 24, 2014 12:55 am

Is there any news about a fix for V6.x or about the new V7? My network is screaming in pain!

Try another solution. Cisco, Extreme, Juniper, Datacom... No ETA here. :( (and no more IPv4 address too)
 
User avatar
paoloaga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:52 am
Location: Vaprio d'Agogna (NO) - Italy
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:10 pm

We are seriously short of IPv4 addresses, and IPv6 support on RouterOS is still marginal.

Take a look at the global situation:
http://www.potaroo.net/tools/ipv4/

We need to start making plans to migrate everything we can on IPv6, and we need to have an idea on when IPv6 will start to be seriously taken in consideration into RouterOS.

If the answer is "wait for v7", then please let us know an estimate pessimistic timeframe (a date far enough in the future, that we can expect will be met even if development goes wrong and takes more time) when Mikrotik plans to release it.

MT, I know that it might sound bothering, but try to understand our (ISP) problems.
 
User avatar
paoloaga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:52 am
Location: Vaprio d'Agogna (NO) - Italy
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:17 pm

:cry:
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:12 pm

Would like to see a timeline on this as well since our need to design and deploy IPv6 networks has gone up in the last 6 months.
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
User avatar
paoloaga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:52 am
Location: Vaprio d'Agogna (NO) - Italy
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu Mar 03, 2016 11:50 am

I am having a lot of troubles with IPv6 routing because of this.

With 2 upstream (full-view) and ~ 60 peers at the N.A.P., I am not able to optimize IPv6 traffic. IPv6 is relevant today and I am delaying the deployment because of this issue.

Am I the only one that needs recursive nexthop resolution so much?

I hope this is not considered a "necro-post", just a reminder. :-)
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1792
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: IPv6 recursive nexthops via iBGP

Thu Mar 03, 2016 12:36 pm

@paoloaga

You are not the only one!

This and the OSPFv3 /128 LSA bug are preventing us from rolling IPV6 out across our wider network. We have been waiting for these to be fixed for years now...
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests