Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
ddlan
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:08 pm
Location: Dresden
Contact:

Feature request

Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:09 pm

Netmask and Gateway Settings for Managementinterface.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Feature request

Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:48 pm

You're aware it is remotely reachable without those? Management traffic simply is sent back to the source, copying the destination MAC and IP into the relevant header source fields and putting the packet on the wire out the port it came in on. Weird method, but it seems to work.
 
ddlan
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:08 pm
Location: Dresden
Contact:

Re: Feature request

Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:50 pm

push
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24745
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Feature request

Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:52 pm

push
it's not a router. read Fewi's post
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ddlan
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:08 pm
Location: Dresden
Contact:

Re: Feature request

Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:55 pm

And when the switch is in a other net behind a vpn. All Other managable switch have a changable gateway and netmask.

sry for my english

Thomas Böttcher
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: Feature request

Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:07 pm

SwOS does not make any IP routing decisions as there is no need for it (as SwOS does not run programs like ping-to or ssh-client etc.). 250GS still should be accessible behind VPN.
 
mindaugasr
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Feature request

Tue Dec 14, 2010 8:29 am

If You said Your swich is smarter than smart, we definitely need one feature: IGMP snooping!

If You add this, we can implement all network tasks.

Thanks.
 
SethM
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:44 pm

Re: Feature request

Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:36 pm

And when the switch is in a other net behind a vpn. All Other managable switch have a changable gateway and netmask.
I just installed a 250GS at a client location to utilize the traffic shaping properties; it can be accessed remotely just fine.
 
Pilgrim
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 265
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 1:04 pm

Re: Feature request

Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:08 pm

Please, could you point in the direction of how to use the SNMP remote access. Do I need a SNMP client, or is it possible to get remote access using just a web browser?

Thanks,

Pilgrim
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Feature request

Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:44 pm

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS#SNMP_Tab
And yes, of course you need an SNMP client. Anything that talks SNMP. Web browsers usually don't.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
Rus123
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:27 pm

Re: Feature request

Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:39 am

As for me, I need CLI via SSH or Telnet. I think it will be usefull and helpfull.
 
craigmyster
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:26 pm

Re: Feature request

Wed May 11, 2011 3:39 am

I have several 250Gs behind a NAT. I can access them no problem using dstnat rules but SNMP keeps on randomly timing out for monitoring. This seems to be the case on all the devices. In the NAT rules I don't see the counters going up for my srcnat masquerade rules, For the Torch tool output on the router I see the 250G's address communicating with the external server address. I am still stumped though because even though http traffic to the 250G works fine behind the nat the srcnat counters on the 750G router counters are not going up.
 
craigmyster
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:26 pm

Re: Feature request

Wed May 25, 2011 4:27 pm

I have several 250Gs behind a NAT. I can access them no problem using dstnat rules but SNMP keeps on randomly timing out for monitoring. This seems to be the case on all the devices. In the NAT rules I don't see the counters going up for my srcnat masquerade rules, For the Torch tool output on the router I see the 250G's address communicating with the external server address. I am still stumped though because even though http traffic to the 250G works fine behind the nat the srcnat counters on the 750G router counters are not going up.
Accessing the Web interface remotely when the 250GS is behind a NAT using dstnat rules works good. But SNMP traffic keeps on timing out. I can do an snmp walk and see the interfaces but it keeps on randomly timing out.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests