Community discussions

 
Atroman
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:01 pm

Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:02 pm

Hi Guys,

I have an Rb1100 and I am in the config/testing stages at the moment.

The hot spot is configured and user manager seems to be up and running. From what I can see, within user manager I have ticked and completed the fields that will allow users to register or sign up.

Every time I connect to the hot spot it brings up the same old login box with no option to sign up..

This is driving me mad!! Can someone please help.

I have followed the wiki's but they all seem to be a bit out of date!

Thanks
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:13 pm

You will have to redesign the login.html to include the signup links etc. That is a manual process, and is not integrated into the user manager system.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:19 pm

I think you need to put a link to the signup page on the router's login.html doc.
<a href="http://routerip/user?signup=PublicID">Click here to register and purchase</a><br>
Replace routerip with the User Manager router ip (I use my User Manager router public ip for localnets on the User Manager router), and PublicID with the User Manager customer's public id. Add the User Manager router public ip to your "/ip hotspot walled-garden ip".
I put my link right below the "Login" button.
 
Atroman
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:01 pm

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:04 pm

Hi Guys

Thanks for that, that got me a little further!
In the latest RouterOS the url is actually: http://IP/user/signup/login

After doing that I still couldn't get it working...after banging my head against the wall I realised it's because user manager is running locally on the box.
I added a second IP address to the interface and rather than configure the radius with a loop back address (127.0.0.1) I gave it its own IP address and added that internal address to the walled garden. Hey Presto I can now access the signup page.

Mikrotik need to update their notes!!!
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:25 pm

When you say the latest, you mean V5rcX? I am testing this stuff on V4.16 (latest stable version).
 
Atroman
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:01 pm

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:33 pm

Well what ever shipped on the new RouterBoard 1100..

Getting Radius Server Not Responding now when trying to log back in.

I've configured the IP addresses on both sides..It allows me to create an account, just not log in with it.
Any ideas?
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:46 pm

I have my hotspot and User Manager set up on the same router.

The stuff I gave you was for the user signup and payment page. For login, you should set the radius server ip (/radius) in the router to 127.0.0.1. Then in User Manager, enter Router info with ip 127.0.0.1 and the same radius secret as in the router's /radius section.
 
Atroman
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:01 pm

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:49 pm

Thats how it was to start with but I was unable to access the signup page.
I've tried reverting everything back to 127.0.0.1 as well as the interface's IP address now I'm constantly getting the Radius Not Responding.

If I factory reset what step should I take to ensure I can access the signup page when connected to the hotspot because until I added a second IP address it didnt seem to work?

Thanks
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:52 pm

The signup page ip and the login ip on my router are different.
I use the public ip on my WAN interface for signup and payment.
I use 127.0.0.1 for the entry in "/radius", and 127.0.0.1 as the ip in User Manager Router section.
 
Atroman
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:01 pm

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:59 pm

Ahh I see, is there no way of configuring it without using a WAN address?
I am configuring and testing at the moment and only have a DHCP WAN address. Until deployment I wont have a static?
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:29 pm

As a test, I assigned 10.0.0.1/24 to my ether2 interface, added 10.0.0.1 to "/ip hotspot walled-garden ip", and it works. I think it must be outside the hotspot interface subnet. That seems to be the requirement.
 
Etza
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 10:33 pm

Re: Hotspot - Login but no Sign Up

Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:54 pm

Hi guys

I test um with signup for free accese
Do you know how I can add extra fields in signup form ?.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 65 guests