Community discussions

 
hci
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:10 pm

IPv6 and DNS

Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:29 pm

I setup a IPv6 tunnel from HE.net loosely following directions here:

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:My ... v6_Network

Well it works somewhat. I have my IPv6 /64 bound to my wlan interface on routerboard and advertised. When my Win7 PC connects it gets an IPv6 address assigned automatically but no DNS server. When I manually assign the IPv6 DNS server from HE.net to the Win7 wifi interface then I can surf the Internet.

Is there anyway to automatically assign the DNS server as well???
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:50 pm

Future versions of RouterOS will support DHCPv6. There is also draft work underway to use extensions to the stateless autoconfiguration mechanism to be able to pass DNS configuration.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5941
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:09 pm

RouterOS is already passing DNS server, however client must support this feature.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:11 pm

im no expert but isnt there a standard multicast address in ipv6 that you setup a dns resolver on and it gets used for that local subnet? will look into that.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
hci
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:34 pm

im no expert but isnt there a standard multicast address in ipv6 that you setup a dns resolver on and it gets used for that local subnet? will look into that.
Exactly what I thought. Windows assigns these by default it seems:

fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1

You cannot do an IPv6 DST NAT AFAIK to remap them to the outside IPv6 DNS server. So I just assigned the 3 IPv6's to an ethernet port on the routerboard. Under DNS I added the outside IPv6 DNS server and enabled 'Allow Remote Requests'. It didn't work. Any ideas?

I did not add the %1 to the end of any of the IPv6's, perhaps thats the deal? I assume that has to do with multicast?
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5941
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:57 pm

In windows if you set up dual stack then ipv4 dns server can be used to resolve AAAA records.
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:10 am

@changeip
IPv6 multicast addresses are ff00::/8

@hci
fec0::/10 are deprecated 'site-local' addresses
In Windows enviroment after '%' is interface index
I also setup HE IPv6 tunnel and there is no problem with DNS on Win7 and WinXP.
Done with RB433AH and ROS 5rc7, so check your config twice.

Regards, Grzegorz.
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
FIPTech
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:53 am

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:59 pm

I tried DNS advertisement between Router OS and Linux. It does work.

Does not work with Windows XP.

Didn't tried with Seven.


On Windows, you can manually set the DNS through the console using this command :
netsh interface ipv6 add dns [IPv6 address]
By default IPv6 DNS on Windows XP is set to well known unicast addresses :

fec0:0:0:ffff::1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2
fec0:0:0:ffff::3

This is deprecated as those addresses are using site local address space...

Technet say :

"Computers running Windows XP, Windows Server 2003, Windows Vista or Windows Server 2008 can send DNS queries over IPv6 using..."

I never succeeded in sending IPv6 DNS requests from Windows XP. Perhaps is there a hided registry setting ??

Technet article about IPv6 and Windows :

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 26952.aspx


Then in a Microsoft IPv6 FAQ i've found :
Even though IPv6 for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 configures these DNS server addresses and supports the netsh interface ipv6 add dns command, DNS messages are only sent over IPv4.
The FAQ is the truth. Windows XP will certainly get a fix for this in the next monthes before extended support exhaustion.
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:03 pm

@FIPTech
Even though IPv6 for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 configures these DNS server addresses and supports the netsh interface ipv6 add dns command, DNS messages are only sent over IPv4.
You are rirght, I'm in dual-stack mode, my bad :(

Regards, Grzegorz.
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
hci
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:03 am

I am wanting to do a single stack deployment to test. That way I can see what all works on IPv6 Internet. I know when we deploy to end users we will need to do dual stack but for testing I want to make single stack IPv6 only. Makes it possible to test email and webservers for IPv6 readiness as well.
 
FIPTech
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:53 am

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Sat Jan 15, 2011 9:38 am

I am wanting to do a single stack deployment to test. That way I can see what all works on IPv6 Internet. I know when we deploy to end users we will need to do dual stack but for testing I want to make single stack IPv6 only. Makes it possible to test email and webservers for IPv6 readiness as well.

This is a vey good test.

Unfortunately most OSes and hardware will not pass the test today or will simply not allow to disable IPv4. And most actual softwares will certainly become mad without IPv4 enabled.


Even some standards are missing today to get IPv6 only networks, like IPv6 LDP for MPLS.

So in the mean time we need dual stack everywhere.
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:23 am

@hci
I am wanting to do a single stack deployment to test. That way I can see what all works on IPv6 Internet. I know when we deploy to end users we will need to do dual stack but for testing I want to make single stack IPv6 only. Makes it possible to test email and webservers for IPv6 readiness as well.
Look at HE IPv6 certification, this is practice test and you must configure your web and mail server to be IPv6 ready.
Consider this as some kind of test.

HTH, Grzegorz.
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:19 am

I tried disabling IPv4 on my Windows XP laptop only to find out there is no IPv6 DNS resolving.
I see no IPv6 DNS setting changing possible in Mikrotik ROS. Is there one or does all DNS resolving must go through IPv4 DNS and thus force the use of dual stack IP?
 
Beccara
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:13 am

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:35 am

The issue is with your computer, Not ROS.

ROS is sending DNS servers as part of the RA giving your computer it's IPv6 address however Windows doesn't currently listen to that info.

To run a pure IPv6 stack on Windows you will have to specify the DNS server for the time being
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:22 am

on my workstation i use "dual stack" everything happens over IPv4 except DNS, as i only have IPv6 address set as DNS name server (my RB asks another RB ipv6 request, and in turn that one asks ipv5 request further) and telnet/ssh/ftp/www management of test routers are ipv6

So - Ubuntu is very ipv6 ready.
 
FIPTech
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:53 am

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:39 am

Windows XP does not support (yet) DNS over IPv6 transport.

So if you disable IPv4, you can't have DNS resolution through the system IPv6 stack. Only special programs with internal DNS resolution can work, eventually taking the IPv6 DNS server address in the network settings if you set it.



I hope this will be corrected before Windows XP end of life because this system will stay some years more in business.
 
User avatar
marsark
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:28 pm

I have checked Router Advertisement packet sent by ROS 5_rc8 in the WireShark, but there were no DNS advertise records included. Advertise DNS option is enabled.
 
FIPTech
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:53 am

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:53 pm

I've checked this with RC4 it was working with Linux clients.

Broken in RC8 ?
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4784
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:21 am

I have checked Router Advertisement packet sent by ROS 5_rc8 in the WireShark, but there were no DNS advertise records included. Advertise DNS option is enabled.
Quick checked it too (rc6) and it advertises DNS servers set in /ip dns. So you have to enter IPv6 address there and it will be passed to clients. It will make clients bypass DNS cache on router. I first expected that the address of the router would be advertised. Maybe you made the same mistake?

But it's not very useful anyway, AFAIK no version of Windows supports it, including Win7. And Windows is everywhere.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
User avatar
marsark
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Wed Feb 09, 2011 1:46 am

Yes. I checked it now and ROS sends DNS server address in RA, only if the list of DNS servers contains at least one IPv6 address.
 
FIPTech
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:53 am

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:02 am

I remember that DNS RA was working only if there was not more than two DNS server entries in DNS setup.
 
User avatar
marsark
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:08 am

Now I have a one IPv6 server and two IPv4 servers in the DNS config. And works.
 
FIPTech
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:53 am

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:45 am

Try to put the IPv6 server address in third position, i think it will not work, except if this has been corrected.
 
_saik0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:18 pm

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:45 pm

So basically (not talking about DHCPv6), IPv6 stateless autoconfig doesn't currently offer extensions for DNS config?
I mean I realise mikrotik passes DNS in RADVD but since it's still not a IETF standard there's no official support eg. Windows.

I see there's a IETF draft from 2001 (!) about DNS stateless autoconfig... where did that get stuck?
Mikrotik uses the implementation based on RFC5006? If so that's also rather old (2007)....

Other than manual (obviously) and DHCPv6 DNS config there's no solution for windows currently?
 
FIPTech
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:53 am

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:05 pm

Switch to Linux :=)

You will have better support for IPv6.

Microsoft has traditionnaly lag for network technologies support. I remember Windows 3.1 for workgroups. Network was terrible compared to Novell performance...

You should ask to Mikrosoft why they don't have full IPv6 support.

I hope they will offer a last Service Pack for Windows XP, before the official end of support date, so that we can have IPv6 fully working.

A lot of companies are still using XP because switching to Seven would be to costly. And XP will certainly last 3-5 years more in those companies.

We are seriously thinking to switch to Linux for Desktops in the comming years. There is less and less reasons to keep Windows everywhere and give money to get fat and expensive systems.
 
_saik0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:18 pm

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Sun Apr 24, 2011 11:20 pm

Anyhow... would be nice if mikrotik finally added DHCPv6 with an option to only update DNS if address already autoconfigured.
Something like a AdvOtherConfigFlag flag where all parameters except IP would be given.

That way autoconfig would work per default and DHCPv6 would help windows hosts to get DNS from the router.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24261
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Tue Apr 26, 2011 3:44 pm

what do you expect. windows xp is 10 years old. you can only hope for another service pack.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
FIPTech
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:53 am

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:05 pm

Yes you are right XP is old and fat.

And Seven is young, but fat too. They have sports room at work but this is not enough to keep Windows slim.


That's why i like Mikrotik a lot. This is not fat, even without sports room at work.
Last edited by FIPTech on Tue Apr 26, 2011 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
_saik0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:18 pm

Re: IPv6 and DNS

Tue Apr 26, 2011 5:07 pm

what do you expect. windows xp is 10 years old. you can only hope for another service pack.
erm w7 also doesn't accept the dns parameter...
One sad thing: even iphone accepts it seems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot], pe1chl and 30 guests