Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

rb450 reboot problem

Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:07 am

i have lot of rb450 and rb450g, when i am rebooting them it cannot start and i after i need to reboot it from power,

its very big problem for me because i have them on towers so on evry reboot i need to go there and reboot it manualy,
what can be the problem?
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:33 am

It would be great you can get one of the boards from tower, and check the console output to have more information about the problem.
 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:24 pm

and what about supout.rif, will it help?
 
Rusteko
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:31 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:39 pm

I have same problem with RB450G ROS 4.16
It's not reboot - it shutdown when you try to reboot it.
Good solution - downgrade to ROS 4.13
In downgrade process it will shutdown too, and need to unplug power.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:44 am

shrek777
I'm not sure support output file will help, console output + support output file will be great.

Rusteko
Do you have the latest firmware (/system routerboard print shows it)?
 
Agamen
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:42 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:37 am

Same problem whit RB450G ROS 4.16 , when I reboot from Winbox it shutdown, and need power restart to start.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:36 pm

More information is required about your problem. The best option is to report the problem to support (support@mikrotik.com) with the following information,
- attached support output file;
- console output after reboot command.

This is output from my RouterBOARD 450G, where RouterOS 4.16 is installed (the latest firmware is installed as well),

Reboot is from Winbox,
MikroTik 4.16
Sergejs_Switch Login: 

Rebooting...
Stopping services...
Restarting system.
?

RouterBOOT booter 2.29

RouterBoard 450G

CPU frequency: 680 MHz
  Memory size: 256 MB

Press any key within 2 seconds to enter setup..
loading kernel from nand... OK
setting up elf image... OK
jumping to kernel code
Starting...
Starting services...

MikroTik 4.16
Sergejs_Switch Login:
 
User avatar
SeaburyNorton
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:13 am

Small point I noticed...


I have a 450G running 4.16. I experience the "crash on reboot issue" occasionally. I can reboot with no problem MOST of the time, but the common factor I notice is this:

Occasionally, when adjusting rules (mostly in ip>firewall>filter or >queue tree) in winbox, the window will freeze up. All buttons lock and only after a couple minutes (or minimizing and then maximizing winbox) does the window free up and will respond again. I usually close the window and re-open at that point.

The reboot into shutdown issue almost always happens if one of these window freezes has occurred during the router's uptime. If no freezes have occurred, it tends to reboot perfectly.

Perhaps that means something to Mikrotik?
 
wifi442
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:01 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:10 am

Any new developments on this? I had a router do this tonight. 493G Running 4.16. Anyone have this happen with any other routers besides 450 series?

This is a big fear for me as a lot of my routers are half a days trip away.

I had a 450g do this a few weeks ago, I just thought I choose shutdown instead of reboot but now I think it was this issue. I have a extra 450G and i'm gonna try to reproduce it tomorrow. My routers that have had it happen are running OSPF and PPPoE server and some PCQ queues if that helps

Only this I have is log entries that show: "<pppoe-user>: terminating... - system is going to shutdown" when I chose reboot in winbox

45 min later I was at the tower in the cold power cycling it
 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:28 am

I have same problem again, so i willnot reboot mikrotik until this problem will be solved :)
 
wifi442
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:01 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:44 pm

I have same problem again, so i willnot reboot mikrotik until this problem will be solved :)

Same here but sometimes reboot is necessary. Gonna mess with my spare 450g later today.
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:49 am

Please describe powering of those Routerboards. Can you reproduce this problem using default configuration?
 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:13 am

my configuration is very simple, i have bridge interface, pppoe server and thats all
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:54 am

We too are seeing this. We don't use Winbox. I was terminated in the one time and the box just sat at a blank screen instead of rebooting.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:22 am

Are you by any chance using microSD flash with these units that are failing to reboot?

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:26 am

Are you by any chance using microSD flash with these units that are failing to reboot?

Tom
No.
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:29 am

The boards simply shutdown rather than reboot.
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:19 pm

Can anyone post console output after reboot command as requested by sergejs?
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:58 pm

Em
Can anyone post console output after reboot command as requested by sergejs?
No, because there is none. The system just shuts down.
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:37 pm

i have one rb1100 with the same problem

if i trigger a system reboot command, the routerboard never came back again. only if i took the power off and on.

no console messages.
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:44 pm

i have one rb1100 with the same problem

if i trigger a system reboot command, the routerboard never came back again. only if i took the power off and on.

no console messages.
Please send supout.rif file to support@mikrotik.com.
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:48 pm

ok!
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:48 pm

Before or after said reboot? Since we can't do it while it's off :)
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:57 pm

my configuration is very simple, i have bridge interface, pppoe server and thats all
Can you try to disable bridge/-s and PPPoE server/-s on by one and check whether you can reproduce this problem? I tested configuration you described with RB450G v4.16/2.29 and reboot is successful.
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:00 pm

my configuration is very simple, i have bridge interface, pppoe server and thats all
Can you try to disable bridge/-s and PPPoE server/-s on by one and check whether you can reproduce this problem? I tested configuration you described with RB450G v4.16/2.29 and reboot is successful.
We don't have PPoE server, and I've seen it happen on units without the bridge enabled.
 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:25 pm

But problem is that, that i can reboot it normaly but sometimes this problem occured
 
wifi442
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:01 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem (caught on video)

Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:24 pm

I was able to reproduce the problem on my unused routerboard 450g. It still has OSPF, PPPOE and all the setting in place from before I replaced it with a RB1100, but nothing is plugged in except the laptop and the serial cable. It doesn't happen everytime (arrrg) but when it does it just shuts off. I was even lucky enough to get it on video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TiLcEJAgnM0

I had an x86 pc rb plugged into the serial port and it says:

"system,error,critical login failure for user restarting system. via local"

EDIT sometimes it says "system,error,critical login failure for user system halted. via local" as seen in the video

Which is what it says when it actually restarts too so I don't know if that helps or even why its saying that.

Hope this helps!
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem (caught on video)

Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:55 pm

..It doesn't happen everytime..
How often does it happen? I manage to reproduce it roughly once out of 15 tries.
 
User avatar
radiosn00p
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 12:22 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem (caught on video)

Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:26 am

..It doesn't happen everytime..
How often does it happen? I manage to reproduce it roughly once out of 15 tries.
The problem is not just RB450G, tonight I had to dispatch a tech to a customers site to power cycle an RB493AH that was rebooted remotely, and earlier today it was an RB450 140 miles away. This problem never occured on these devices running OS4.11 But they were upgraded to 4.16/2.29 and it appears that upon invoking the update firmware function /sys rou up, that that is when I have noticed this issue. It may be related to 2.29.
 
Nutcracker
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:36 am

It would be nice if Mikrotik could give some feedback on this.
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:47 am

 
wifi442
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:01 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:16 am

My RB493G (one with the issue) has that firmware:

[admin@CactusCtiy] > system routerboard print
routerboard: yes
model: "493G"
serial-number: "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx"
current-firmware: "2.28"
upgrade-firmware: "2.29"
[admin@CactusCtiy] >

Should I upgrade the FW?

I was out at one of my towers today and performed a reboot on it (the 493G listed above). Sure enough it didn't come back. Lucky I was there to power cycle it. Time to invest in a PDU
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:23 pm

Do we have any update on this?
 
mstead
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:41 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:01 am

I can confirm the reboot problem on v4.17 with RB493AH. Reboot makes the board shutdown instead.
 
jmay
Member
Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:26 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Wed Mar 23, 2011 12:41 am

I just wanted to chime in that I had the same problem with a 450 and 4.17. I thought I was losing my mind with that thing! I'm now scared to death to reboot anything. I'll be watching this thread.
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:02 pm

Seriously... no updates?!?! I'm scared stiff to reboot an RB at a remote site right now until we figure out why this is going on. Hello, MikroTik... ANYTHING?
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:20 pm

This bug will be fixed in next release of RouterOS. Thank you for the input.
 
mcrose
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:43 pm

Can you give details about exactly what versions of the ROS or firmware will have this fixed? I thought this bug was limited to the 4.x ROS series but I had a problem tonight upgrading a 450G from 5.2 & 2.29 to 5.4 & 2.29 -- after uploading the new OS and issuing a /system reboot command it hung; and power cycling it brought it up, and the console showed it verifying and installing the 5.4 binaries.
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:48 pm

For that matter can someone explain HOW / WHY this is happening? How can a reboot command get confused with a shutdown command? We've had to disable all watchdogs on our systems because the systems would shutdown instead of reboot if the watchdog kicked in!!!

And as of right now the 5.x series is way too unstable to use in production. It should really be removed from the 'stable' category until the bugs are worked out.
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:23 pm

I had the same problems on many different routerboards (493ah, 443ah, 411u,...). The problem has been solved for my routers in 5.2. They can reboot without shutting down, so watchdog is usefull again.
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:30 pm

I had the same problems on many different routerboards (493ah, 443ah, 411u,...). The problem has been solved for my routers in 5.2. They can reboot without shutting down, so watchdog is usefull again.
Sadly - 5.2 is not a stable firmware, so we can't upgrade to it yet.
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:21 am

Use 5.4 then. It is marked as stable.

br.
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:47 pm

Are the snmp bugs fixed in 5.4?
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Fri Jun 03, 2011 8:31 pm

What SNMP bugs? Have I missed something?
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Fri Jun 03, 2011 8:57 pm

What SNMP bugs? Have I missed something?
Apparently - you missed the thread that MikroTik deleted :shock: the ENTIRE THREAD dedicated to how 5.x wasn't production stable and should be removed from the 'stable' download area.

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=51372
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=51981

And - strongly - all of the threads that were in the main forum discussing the other bugs in the 5.x releases related to SNMP lock ups and other problems have mysteriously vanished, just like the other thread.

And just to prove I'm not making this censoring up:
http://www.ubnt.com/forum/showpost.php? ... ostcount=7
Problems with basic routing stuff - OSPF, memory leaks, routing cache. - "Went in yesterday, thread gone!!!! "

http://www.ubnt.com/forum/showpost.php? ... stcount=10
 
pdf
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:56 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:59 pm

I have the same problem: RB493AH in two different sites and I experienced the "reboot" issue. The ports are off, like if the board is in shutdown.

I tried two boards, one with 4.17 and one with 4.14. At the moment reboot=shutdown

I also tried to "downgrade" to 4.11 without success. The board I tried to downgrade does not power up anymore. It stays died. Later I will connect the console and see what happens.

By the way, it's not just a "simple bug". Imagine to reboot your core router and then you think to reboot another router to see if the interface comes up and then.... your whole network or huge part of the network is down. Then you have to take the car and drive for a couple of hours while the customers are calling and this only to do an hardware reset of the board.


So what is the STABLE version? To me it seems that 4.11 for THE REBOOT ISSUE is stable but I do not want to experiment further to see if it keeps hanging.

Suggestions VERY WELCOME

Thank you
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:31 am

This bug has been fixed starting from v5.0. It is recommended to upgrade to latest version.
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:56 pm

This bug has been fixed starting from v5.0. It is recommended to upgrade to latest version.
I will as soon as it becomes stable. Last I checked there were numerous bugs affecting routing and dhcp and arp.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:05 pm

mhoppes,
have you reported them to support?
 
mhoppes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:10 pm

mhoppes,
have you reported them to support?
Yes. All issues were reported. If not by me by others in the forums.

Interestingly at one point there was a thread about 5.x not being ready for stable release. That thread was erased!
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: rb450 reboot problem

Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:17 pm

I do not see any active reports about
bugs affecting routing and dhcp and arp.
opened at v5.6
Do you have any support ticket number? or at least you can repeat the same problem, so it will be great to get report from you to support@mikrotik.ocm

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Claudie159, momeng and 60 guests