Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
NocDoc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:20 pm

Routerboard 435g

Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:41 pm

I have a backhaul bridge setup which involves (2) - 435g boards with (4) - R52HN cards in one board and (5) - R52HN cards in the other - connecting together at 4km. The wireless works beautiful with no connectivity issues at all, but for some reason the ethernet port (POE) on the routerboards can't link up to the switches (Netgear Gigabit) on either side of the bridge in gigabit (1000mbps) connectivity - it shows up in each radio as 100mbps and also on each lan side switch. The reason we went to this card was the gigabit connection. Any thoughts? Is there a network cable length limit? (im at aprox. 125 feet) or possibly a setting in the router OS? Thanks in advance!!

Doc
 
mgutz2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:55 pm
Location: Nicaragua

Re: Routerboard 435g

Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:16 am

in ros 5.5 to 5.7 i have tihs problem on rb411 and 411ah, i mus be do a downgrade to ros4.17 an is more stable. in my case is to 100,10, half or duplex conection.
 
NocDoc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:20 pm

Re: Routerboard 435g

Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:44 am

Tryed that, was hoping that downgrading would work but it did not help. Thanks for the post though.

Anyone else have any ideas? Thanks again!

Doc
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: Routerboard 435g

Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:36 am

Please describe how this board is powered. Are you using Mikrotik gigabit POE adapter?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard 435g

Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:35 pm

in addition you could add also, where you are checking for these speeds? On switch or in RouterOS, if so, with /interface ethernet monitor <interface> ?

or speed of connection suggest that there isn't more than 100Mbps link availabe

Also, for 1Gbit link to work you have to enable auto-negotiation, since these links exchange more information than 100Mbps links (where it was only speed and duplex information)
 
NocDoc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:20 pm

Re: Routerboard 435g

Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:04 am

The POE's we are using have worked for gigabit radios in the past, and also worked with these radio's on the shop test bench. I am using the "Made for Mikrotik" 24V power supply that Mikrotik suggests for this radio, however it is not a Mikrotik POE. This is why I thought it may have something to do with the cable length up the tower. I have ordered 2 Mikrotik RB/GPOE's today to eliminate any doubt on the POE's. I will let you know if this fixes it. Thanks for your responses. Hopefully this will work. If not we'll look into it further.
 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Routerboard 435g

Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:11 pm

Please keep us posted, I am having the same issue.
savagedavid
MTCE+T (MikroTik Certified Everything + Trainer)
MikroTik support and training in South Africa
http://www.mikrotiksa.com
david [at] mikrotiksa dot com
 
NocDoc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:20 pm

Re: Routerboard 435g

Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:27 am

Sorry it took so long to answer back ... health issues. Just to let you know, the MikroTik Gigabit POE's fixed this problem. Strange as the old poe's worked on other gigabit radios, but as we are changing out everything to MikroTik Radios, looks like I will have some stuff for ebay. LOL! Thanks again to all that helped with this issue.
 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Routerboard 435g

Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:19 am

Good to hear. I wonder if MikroTik can give us the pin layout so we can build it into our power systems?
savagedavid
MTCE+T (MikroTik Certified Everything + Trainer)
MikroTik support and training in South Africa
http://www.mikrotiksa.com
david [at] mikrotiksa dot com
 
ronniee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 9:32 pm

Re: Routerboard 435g

Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:41 pm

We have the same problem with an 1km link (RB435G with 1 R5n-card).
The wireless link is ok, but daily we lost 2-3 times the gigabit Ethernet link on the RB435G.
We are using Mikrotik Gigabit POE!

The link worked fine half year.
Maybe the problem appear 1-2 month ago when I upgraded to 5.7 and later 5.9 and now 5.11 same problem.
Firstly one time/week and I don't give importance.

If I make a separate UTP cable to the ether2 for gigabit traffic, and ether1 will be only for powering maybe resolve the problem?

I don't want to downgrade to 4.x, there nv2 in not working.

Firstly I will change tomorrow the POE with a new one.

If you have some other issue?

thanks in advice

ronn
 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Routerboard 435g

Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:42 am

We eventually receive our GBPOE stock and installed. Getting around 180mbps btest to the ether port and wireless performance of 125-130mbps TCP bandwidth running btest between 2 x RB1200 connected to a transparent bridge using RB711G. Full Duplex testing delivers around 150mbps aggregate.
savagedavid
MTCE+T (MikroTik Certified Everything + Trainer)
MikroTik support and training in South Africa
http://www.mikrotiksa.com
david [at] mikrotiksa dot com
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard 435g

Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:58 pm

good to hear you got those Gbit injectors.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests