Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
dan
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 10:44 am

RB450G and "..could not get answer from dns server"

Sun Nov 06, 2011 12:12 pm

Hi all.
I have problem with my first MikroTik device and hope on your help.

Device:
[admin@MikroTik] > /syst resource print
                   uptime: 18m
                  version: 5.8
              free-memory: 244476KiB
             total-memory: 257120KiB
                      cpu: MIPS 24Kc V7.4
                cpu-count: 1
            cpu-frequency: 680MHz
                 cpu-load: 1%
           free-hdd-space: 483400KiB
          total-hdd-space: 520192KiB
  write-sect-since-reboot: 147
         write-sect-total: 37774
               bad-blocks: 0.1%
        architecture-name: mipsbe
               board-name: RB450G
                 platform: MikroTik

[admin@MikroTik] > /syst routerboard print
       routerboard: yes
             model: 450G
  current-firmware: 2.36
  upgrade-firmware: 2.37
Try connect to my ISP:
[admin@MikroTik] > /ip dhcp-client print detail
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid 
 0   ;;; default configuration
     interface=ether1-gateway ipv4=yes add-default-route=yes default-route-distance=2 use-peer-dns=yes use-peer-ntp=yes 
     status=bound address=10.42.74.207/21 dhcp-server=83.102.172.86 primary-dns=213.234.192.8 secondary-dns=85.21.192.3 
     expires-after=6d23h57m1s v6-status=stopped 
[admin@MikroTik] > /ip dns set servers=213.234.192.8,85.21.192.3 allow-remote-requests=yes
[admin@MikroTik] > :ping www.google.com
while resolving ip-address: could not get answer from dns server
Other device(asus wl500gP) connecting to ISP without problems. What I can do with - "..while resolving ip-address: could not get answer from dns server"? Version 5.7 dont remove problem.
If this problem has been solved earlier, then link pls.
Last edited by dan on Sun Nov 06, 2011 12:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
jtroybailey
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 10:24 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: RB450G and "..could not get answer from dns server"

Sun Nov 06, 2011 12:16 pm

hi, try:
/ip dns set max-udp-packet-size=19999 cache-size=10240
 
dan
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 10:44 am

Re: RB450G and "..could not get answer from dns server"

Sun Nov 06, 2011 12:35 pm

hi, try:
/ip dns set max-udp-packet-size=19999 cache-size=10240
I do and reboot. But dont work - "..while resolving ip-address.." again.
 
jtroybailey
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 10:24 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: RB450G and "..could not get answer from dns server"

Sun Nov 06, 2011 12:37 pm

can you ping those ip addresses?
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: RB450G and "..could not get answer from dns server"

Sun Nov 06, 2011 12:38 pm

Can you ping the primary dns server?
:ping 213.234.192.8
Edit: I see jtroybailey beat me to it!
 
dan
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 10:44 am

Re: RB450G and "..could not get answer from dns server"

Sun Nov 06, 2011 1:26 pm

Do you think about routing?
I cant
[admin@MikroTik] > ping 213.234.192.8
HOST                                     SIZE TTL TIME  STATUS                                                                                    
                                                        no route to host                                                                          
                                                        no route to host 
I tape
[admin@MikroTik] > /ip route print detail
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme, 
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit 
 0 ADS  dst-address=10.0.0.0/8 gateway=10.42.72.1 gateway-status=10.42.72.1 reachable ether1-gateway distance=2 scope=30 target-scope=10 
        vrf-interface=ether1-gateway 
and
/ip route
add comment="vpn servers subnet" dst-address=213.234.192.0/24 gateway=10.42.72.1
This correctly I hope.

atm I can ping 213.234.192.8
[admin@MikroTik] > ping 213.234.192.8
HOST                                     SIZE TTL TIME  STATUS                                                                                    
213.234.192.8                              56 249 17ms 
213.234.192.8                              56 249 12ms 
213.234.192.8                              56 249 11ms 
213.234.192.8                              56 249 14ms 
213.234.192.8                              56 249 11ms 
    sent=5 received=5 packet-loss=0% min-rtt=11ms avg-rtt=13ms max-rtt=17ms 

google.com - "..no route to host"
[admin@MikroTik] > ping www.google.com
HOST                                     SIZE TTL TIME  STATUS                                                                                    
                                                        no route to host                                                                          
                                                        no route to host
Tnx mates. :) This 1st step from dead point - "could not get answer from dns server"
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: RB450G and "..could not get answer from dns server"

Sun Nov 06, 2011 1:41 pm

I do not see a default route. It would be the route with "dst-address=0.0.0.0/0".

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cifzo, Google [Bot] and 54 guests