Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
ice
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 7:27 pm
Location: Earth

Advice wanted!

Tue Jan 10, 2006 4:52 pm

We have a cisco router in the network, we don't know its configuration. The computers in the network use it as default gateway to go on the internet. The problem is that when we put MT on the same network(LAN) following happens:
1. MT can ping the computers in the LAN
2. Computers in the LAN can ping the cisco
3. MT when tries to ping cisco, we get 3 pings and then RTO.
4. If we disable the interface and enable again then same thing happens, 3 pings and then RTO.

Why is this happening, is it possible that CISCO has some ACL or firewall enabled which detects another router(MT) in the network a drops all traffic coming from it?
Suggestions would be welcome.
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:04 am

Hi, yo have to set on the client side the gw of the Mikrotik. Do you have your MT with NAT ?? Check the routes on the MT
José Ignacio Acosta
MikroTik Consultant IDAR0001
Mikronet

Movile: +54 9 3472-624722
Email/Msn: info[at]mikronet.com.ar
 
ice
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 7:27 pm
Location: Earth

Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:19 pm

MT and cisco are on the same LAN.
MT= 10.10.10.23/24
Cisco= 10.10.10.1/24
Computer= 10.10.10.4/24

Computer pings cisco
MT pings computer
Mt pings cisco, but after 3 pings it gets RTO, and if interface disable and enable then again 3 pings and then RTO

Is the cisco blocking access from router on the same network? Is it possible? I suspect firewall inside cisco not allowing ping or access from neighbouring router in the same LAN. Is it possible?
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Wed Jan 11, 2006 3:49 pm

MT and cisco are on the same LAN.
MT= 10.10.10.23/24
Cisco= 10.10.10.1/24
Computer= 10.10.10.4/24

Computer pings cisco
MT pings computer
Mt pings cisco, but after 3 pings it gets RTO, and if interface disable and enable then again 3 pings and then RTO

Is the cisco blocking access from router on the same network? Is it possible? I suspect firewall inside cisco not allowing ping or access from neighbouring router in the same LAN. Is it possible?
The cisco perhaps it´s blocking icmp by bytes, burst... Can you connect to internet?
José Ignacio Acosta
MikroTik Consultant IDAR0001
Mikronet

Movile: +54 9 3472-624722
Email/Msn: info[at]mikronet.com.ar
 
ice
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 7:27 pm
Location: Earth

Thu Jan 12, 2006 8:45 am

The computers can get on the Internet but NOT THE MT.
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:37 pm

The computers can get on the Internet but NOT THE MT.
Can you post your configuration please?
José Ignacio Acosta
MikroTik Consultant IDAR0001
Mikronet

Movile: +54 9 3472-624722
Email/Msn: info[at]mikronet.com.ar
 
ice
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 7:27 pm
Location: Earth

Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:22 pm

We found out. There was a block in cisco for all router access in the same lan. We configured the MT to bridge mode and now all traffic flowing through it able to ping cisco, though MT still can't ping cisco due to the block.
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:10 pm

a bit OT, how would the cisco know that the MT was a router and not just another PC?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sindy and 50 guests