Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
isaacu
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:18 pm

IP Route with two ISPs (Carrier Transport)

Thu Jul 12, 2012 6:23 pm

Greetings all,
I have a strange scenario I need some help with. Let me start by explaining my network topography as it applies to this situation. I currently have one Metro Ethe ISP plugged right into my core (MTROS) and they have IP routed multiple IP blocks to me. It leaves my building through our Microwave Network and hits another router and it is then passed onto our customers through wireless APs (Canopy)
Here is my dilemma. There is a customer the cable company can't get because of a political issue but I can. The cable company would like to service this customer but they need me to get there. I'm not interested in VLANs or network segmenting so I am left with this scenario.
If they (The cable company) tie into my core through one of the 7Ethernet ports and IP route the customers IP space to me would simply adding an additional default route/gateway and routing out to the customer really work? Is it just that easy or am I missing something important?
 
adairw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:32 pm

Re: IP Route with two ISPs (Carrier Transport)

Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:43 pm

Terminate the cable connection on a physical interface, setup a eoip or vpls (if you're using mpls) tunnel and terminate it in your far end router, bridge it to a vlan and terminate the vlan on the customer cpe or router.
 
isaacu
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:18 pm

Re: IP Route with two ISPs (Carrier Transport)

Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:19 pm

I am testing the EOIP approach here in the office. No dice. I am not very good with bridging so I might be doing something wrong. I have made a bridge in both routers and I have added both the physical port and the tunnel to said bridge. I have done this at both ends. I'm just trying to talk to a little SOHO through the bridge and nothing. I have manually assigned IP as I have ready DHCP doesn't always work.
 
adairw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:32 pm

Re: IP Route with two ISPs (Carrier Transport)

Sun Jul 15, 2012 1:56 am

Sounds like it should have worked. I've never really used eoip as I normally use vpls but the concept is the same.

Let me know if you're still having problems.
 
adairw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:32 pm

Re: IP Route with two ISPs (Carrier Transport)

Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:00 am

I'm just trying to talk to a little SOHO through the bridge and nothing. I have manually assigned IP as I have ready DHCP doesn't always work.
I just got to thinking, where did you assign the ip?
 
isaacu
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:18 pm

Re: IP Route with two ISPs (Carrier Transport)

Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:56 am

I'm just trying to talk to a little SOHO through the bridge and nothing. I have manually assigned IP as I have ready DHCP doesn't always work.
I just got to thinking, where did you assign the ip?
SOHO Lan (192.168.1.1) plugged into Router A Manually assigned IP to laptop plugged into to router B.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests