Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
zahiy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:17 pm
Location: Arara Village - Palestine

RB2011 Routing speed

Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:10 am

Hello,

I am using RB2011 and trying to NAT 100Mbps internet connection from modem to LAN,

I have tested the connection between the internet modem to my computer and I get almost 100Mbps
also the connection speed between my PC and the RB shows almost 100Mbps.

The problem is when I am trying to test the internet speed from my PC through the RB2011 I get 50Mbps!!

is it because of the ethernet frame size??

where can I modify the frame size, for example I need it to be 512 or 1518 byte, where can I change this value?

thanks
Zahi J. Younis
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:50 am

Maybe it's a stupid question but through which ports do you pass the traffic through the rb2011? Ether1 and ether2? Ether1 and ether7?

Enviado desde mi GT-N7000 usando Tapatalk 2
 
zahiy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:17 pm
Location: Arara Village - Palestine

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Fri Aug 03, 2012 2:51 pm

Hello,First I was using ether1 as LAN and ether3 as WAN, I got max 50Mbps, Currently I am using port 5 (Giga) as WAN and port 6 (100) as LAN so far I have reached 90Mbps. not perfect but better than my first experiment. looks like ether1 is kind of limited!

any explanation?
Zahi J. Younis
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:15 pm

i think.. i'm not sure... that for example... rb2011 has 2 ethernet chips... 1 for the first 5 ports and another for the other 5 ports

100mbps is for the chip, not for each port... or if the chip is gigabit it's 1000mbps for the chip

so if you pass traffic through 2 ports from the same chip you get 50%... bandwidth is shared between certain ports.

something similar happened to me when i tried to make a bonding testing but it was with another routerboard

if i used for bonding eth1 and eth2 ... the sum of traffic was equal to 100mbps (50mbps per port) when it was supposed to be 200mbps because that is what is bonding about... to get more bandwidth...
but if i do bonding with eth1 and eth5... the sum of traffic was 200mbps....

i'm not sure about what i wrote above... that is what i believe in... until someone show that i'm wrong...

sorry for my poor english.
 
zahiy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:17 pm
Location: Arara Village - Palestine

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Sat Aug 04, 2012 1:21 am

lets assume it is true, but I am using the Giga ports! 1000 / 2 = 500Mbps, I only need 200 which I dont get.
Zahi J. Younis
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Sat Aug 04, 2012 1:32 am

I'm buying a couple of those rb next week... i will do some testing and post some results here.

Enviado desde mi GT-N7000 usando Tapatalk 2
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1964
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Sat Aug 04, 2012 3:25 am

I'm getting easy 150mbps...
 
zahiy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:17 pm
Location: Arara Village - Palestine

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:51 am

what ports are you using
Zahi J. Younis
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:51 pm

I've gotten the RB2011 to route up to about 900 Mbps (one direction only) between the SFP port and gigabit ports 2-5 and when I change it to switched mode it will get almost a gigabit in one direction or 500 Mbps up/down. This is with MPLS enabled which does optimize routing a little bit.
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
User avatar
Maggiore81
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:12 pm

Very interesting topic.

If I Bond port 6-10, couldnt I achieve an aggregate throughput higher than 100mbit?
It seems very odd.

No 100Mbit shared in 5 ports!!!!
It would be a shame for MT
Dott. Elia Spadoni
---
Network Administrator,
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCWE
Spadhausen Internet Provider
Ravenna, ITALY
http://www.spadhausen.com
 
User avatar
Maggiore81
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:05 pm

no one gives an opionion?

A switch chip at 100mb of 5 ports, whouls do 5x100 FD of switched traffic, or not?
Dott. Elia Spadoni
---
Network Administrator,
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCWE
Spadhausen Internet Provider
Ravenna, ITALY
http://www.spadhausen.com
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:53 pm

no one gives an opionion?

A switch chip at 100mb of 5 ports, whouls do 5x100 FD of switched traffic, or not?
Yes, minus 25% ethernet MAC overhead.
 
User avatar
43north
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:06 am

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Fri Oct 09, 2015 11:35 pm

I am having the exact same problem as the OP with my RB2011. Did you find a solution to why you were only getting 50mbps?
 
User avatar
43north
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:06 am

Re: RB2011 Routing speed

Fri Oct 09, 2015 11:42 pm

Holy crap I guess nevermind on my last post. I just found this feed and it fixed the problem! Disabled the LCD and boom! Weird!!

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=93553

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 61 guests