Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
zervan
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:43 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

"Independent Learning" on Switch VLAN

Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:23 am

What does this property mean? (using terminal: /interface ethernet switch vlan, property independent-learning)
I can't find it in Wiki.
Dusan Zervan from Slovakia
MTCNA, MTCRE
 
User avatar
greencomputing
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:12 pm
Location: Italy

Re: "Independent Learning" on Switch VLAN

Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:49 am

Good morning sir,
the independent-learning you found on vlan configuration is a VLAN learning approach as stated by the IEEE 802.1ad standard. Just to know it's shorted as IVL.

When brdiges learn mac address on the switch ports looking on src mac address, they can store this informations on a shared Database used by every VLAN (shared vlan learning) or can store this information separate databases mapped to each separate VLAN (independant VLAN learning).

So basically you have the possibility to share the mac address<---> switch ports informations among different VLAN (one common db ) or you decide to not share this informations (independent vlan db).

A possible benefit using IVL (independant learning) is that you could have the same mac-adress occurring on different vlans , and this wil not raise any conflict issue

Hoping this will help to clarify the concept.

Have a nice day
If answer was helpful to you why to not plan to... give me karma :)
greencomputing

--------------------
MTCNA / MTCRE certified Senior Mikrotik Consultant
 
taxelas
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 7:54 pm

Re: "Independent Learning" on Switch VLAN

Thu Feb 11, 2021 8:33 pm

Want to share my experience with this setting:

I have 3 Mikrotik devices
hAP ac as main router with CAPSMAN running and 2 hAP ac^2 with controlled CAPs
I've configure provisioning of 3 Access points, each in separate vlan using hardware switch in each device.
all according to Mikrotik manual
But clients were loosing connectivity for couple of minutes after switching to the next AP.

I was struggling for 1 month until I checked the host table in switch mode,
I noticed that MACs have VLAN 1 or 0 in the table.

After I checked independent learning all MACs appeared with the correct VLAN.

Now roaming works good.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: k6ccc, skuykend and 27 guests