Community discussions

 
vladoboss
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:05 am

6rd support?

Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:33 pm

Is 6rd planed for implementation anytime soon? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPv6_rapid_deployment
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: 6rd support?

Sun Aug 19, 2012 2:17 am

why do you want to use this. ITs really simple to deploy ipv6, trough ipv6 dhcp, ND and ipv6 over pppoe.
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 6rd support?

Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:40 am

Lots of ISPs use 6rd. So that's why :)
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 6rd support?

Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:58 pm

Is there any news on 6rd support in RouterOS?
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC
 
moella
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:06 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:34 pm

/agree

This feature is sorely missed
 
sigbjornl
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:32 am

Re: 6rd support?

Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:30 pm

+1 for adding 6rd support
 
PeterFreeman
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:26 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: 6rd support?

Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:10 pm

If we're going to utilise our IPv6 allocations we're all going to need this for the future.
Adding 6RD is a very worth while feature for us.
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: 6rd support?

Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:09 pm

Cisco says that the main differences between 6RD and 6to4 tunneling are as follows:
  • 6RD does not require addresses to have a 2002::/16 prefix; therefore, the prefix can be from the service provider's own address block. This function allows the 6RD operational domain to be within the SP network. From the perspective of customer sites and the general IPv6 Internet connected to a 6RD-enabled service provider network, the IPv6 service provided is equivalent to the native IPv6.
  • All 32 bits of the IPv4 destination need not be carried in the IPv6 payload header. The IPv4 destination is obtained from a combination of bits in the payload header and information on the router. Furthermore, the IPv4 address is not at a fixed location in the IPv6 header as it is in 6to4.
 
PeterFreeman
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:26 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: 6rd support?

Thu May 02, 2013 6:51 pm

Hi all,

There are some good video's relating to IPv6 translation mechnisms that RIPE have just posted.
https://www.ripe.net/lir-services/train ... mechanisms

- 6in4
- 6RD
- NAT64
- DS-Lite

We see that a combination of 6RD and NAT64 being a good way forward for us. Can MicroTik please look into this further for us.

Thanks

Pete.
 
maxspeed
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:19 am

Re: 6rd support?

Mon May 06, 2013 1:15 am

Hi,

With my isp (Videotron in Canada) it's available in beta test mode only, if Mikrotik dont offer 6RD built in, is it possible to configure ipv6 with same result as 6RD ???, I never used ipv6 before, product certified for my isp DIR825 and DIR655, Mikrotik is better then that!

Thank you for your answer

maxspeed
 
royolsen
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:45 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:02 pm

Is it possible to connect to a 6RD service at this time? If not, when can we expect 6RD client support?
 
Snotaap
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:19 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:19 pm

I would as well like 6rd support. My provider supports IPv6 through Rapid Deployment and I really want to get an IPv6 directly from my provider instead of through a tunnel.
 
tejo
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:59 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:49 am

+1
I would like to see RD support also. Thats the only option my provider has also.
 
zylantha
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 3:06 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Tue Dec 24, 2013 5:16 am

+1 for 6RD Support.

I believe that if you have a fixed IPv4 address then you should be able to set up a static IPv6 configuration on a Mikrotik router that will work fine.

However if you have a dynamic IPv4 address, then the IPv6 address configuration will change each time your IP address changes, and you will need to run a calculation to translate the IPv4 address into the correct IPv6 address each time. I tried to do this some time ago but I gave up in the end as it was too hard for me.
 
zylantha
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 3:06 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:35 pm

I can confirm that:

1. 6rd support on a static IP address works fine if you get the settings all correct.

2. 6rd support with dynamic IP addressing can be fully implemented within a Mikrotik script.

This is an incomplete yet functional script to configure a 6rd tunnel up on the Australian ISP iiNet. It assumes you already have the 6in4 tunnel IPv6 address with a comment of "6rd" (to identify the one that needs to be updated). It will only work with an IPv4 Mask Length of 0 but could be adapted for other mask lengths.

The tricky part of this is to convert the IPv4 address into a hexadecimal IPv6 pair. In Mikrotik scripting this can only be done at the end of an IPv6 address (e.g. 1::192.168.0.1 will translate correctly), however with 6rd this translation of the public IP address to the hexadecimal pair needs to be before then (for iiNet the prefix is 2001:4479, so your IPv6 address is 2001:4479:aabb:ccdd::/64 (where your IPv4 public IP address is translated into the hex pairs aa, bb, cc, and dd).

My script is adapted from the following script which is for the Tomato USB Toastman which was posted in the iiNet IPv6 forums (credited to zujik):
WANIP=$(nvram get wan_ipaddr)
if [ -n "$WANIP" ]; then
    ip tunnel del tun6rd
    V6PREFIX=$(printf '2001:4479:%02x%02x:%02x%02x' $(echo $WANIP | tr . ' '))
    ip tunnel add tun6rd mode sit local $WANIP ttl 64
    ip addr add ${V6PREFIX}::1/32 dev tun6rd
    ip addr add ${V6PREFIX}::1/64 dev br0
    ip link set tun6rd up
    ip -6 route add ::/0 via ::203.0.178.66 dev tun6rd
    service radvd restart
fi
Note: Most of the above script is not included in the below Mikrotik script. My main goal is to include the 'set IP address' part which is needed when the dynamic publiic IP address changes. There is no code to detect the IP address change yet.

So finally, here is the Mikrotik script.
:local waninterface "pppoe-iinet"
:local ipv6prefix "2001:4479:"
:local ipv6suffix "::"
:local ipv6interface "sit1"
:local addrcomment "6rd"

:local IPv4addr [/ip address get [find interface=$waninterface] address];
:local IPv4addr [:pick $IPv4addr 0 [:find $IPv4addr "/"]]
:put "IPv4 Address $IPv4addr";
:local IPv6temp [:toip6 ("1::" . $IPv4addr)]

:if ($IPv6temp="") do={
:error "IPv6 temporary address error"
}

:put "IPv6 Temp $IPv6temp"
:local IPv4hex [:pick $IPv6temp 3 15]
:put "IPv4 Hex $IPv4hex"
:local IPv6addr [($ipv6prefix . $IPv4hex . $ipv6suffix)]
:put "IPv6 6rd Address $IPv6addr"

:local IPv6addrnumber [/ipv6 address find where comment=$addrcomment]
:if ($IPv6addrnumber="") do={
:error "IPv6 Address Number error"
}

:put "IPv6 address number $IPv6addrnumber"
:put "Updating $IPv6addrnumber to $IPv6addr"
:put ("Old address: " . [/ipv6 address get $IPv6addrnumber address])

/ipv6 address set number=$IPv6addrnumber address=$IPv6addr

:put ("New address: " . [/ipv6 address get $IPv6addrnumber address])
 
letter
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 1:22 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Sat Feb 15, 2014 1:25 pm

+1 for 6RD support for RouterOS as also my ISP uses this tunneling technology for IPv6.

@zylantha: Can you describe step by step how to configure 6RD for a static IP address?
 
ailioli
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:40 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:43 pm

I would also want to see this feature in RouterOS, my ISP uses 6rd tunnel too.
 
EnigmAX
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 9:49 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Mon May 26, 2014 4:13 pm

I've sent an e-mail to support@mikrotik.com asking for more information.
The official reply I got was:
from: MikroTik support [Janis Krumins] <support@mikrotik.com>
date: Fri, May 23, 2014 at 3:34 PM

Hello,

currently RouterOS does not support 6rd. It is not scheduled anytime soon.

Regards,
Janis Krumins
 
vaizki
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:44 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:15 am

+1 for 6rd support from Finland as well, it seems like all the local ISPs are rolling out 6rd because the regulator went and said that it's an ok way to roll out ipv6 to end users. Doh.

Yes the regulators recommends DHCPv6-PD etc but what we get is 6rd.
 
vaizki
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:44 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Tue Feb 24, 2015 2:24 pm

Can we get some kind of update on 6rd plans?

If it's not in the roadmap for the next year, I will have to start buying something else.

I don't like it. It's a kludge. But it's the reality of IPv6 access for a major part of the world.
 
tetecko
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:44 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:26 pm

for 6rd you can inspire here .. http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=99030
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6rd support?

Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:23 pm

Anyone with the interest in DS-lite support, could you please provide us remote access to your device, so we could expand our data gathering regarding this feature? If you do, please contact us on support@mikritk.com
 
arkadas
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 6:53 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Sun Feb 12, 2017 6:57 pm

Is there any update on this?
My provider only supports 6rd.

Hurricane Electric is not an alternatieve, because it's blocked by netflix, they see Hurricane electric as an proxy service.

Zo please support 6rd natively!

Kind regards.

Arkadas
 
Xenhat
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:41 pm

Re: 6rd support?

Sun May 20, 2018 3:23 pm

Hi,

With my isp (Videotron in Canada) it's available in beta test mode only, if Mikrotik dont offer 6RD built in, is it possible to configure ipv6 with same result as 6RD ???, I never used ipv6 before, product certified for my isp DIR825 and DIR655, Mikrotik is better then that!

Thank you for your answer

maxspeed
I'm several years late, but as of today, it is possible: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=134621

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests