Community discussions

 
Adam84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:46 pm

Queue size=0 problem

Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:22 pm

I want to shape traffic without any queded packets. Any packets above the limit should be dropped immediately. Just like it is described in http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Queue_Size as 100% shaper. But when i set queue size to 0 the traffic stops. It doesn't matter which type of queue i choose, the result is the same for all. Is there a way to achieve that 100% shaper?
 
gsloop
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Queue size=0 problem

Tue Oct 16, 2012 8:09 pm

I don't have an answer for your question, but I do wonder why you'd want to *drop* traffic that isn't being used by any other queues, when it could borrow that traffic/bandwidth until it's needed by the higher priority queues.

I can't think of any downside to using _unused_ bandwidth from higher priority queues. As soon as it's needed, it will start dropping traffic to meet the queue priority and resource limitations.

-Greg
- If I helped you solve your problem ... Karma is an appropriate gift! :) -
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: Queue size=0 problem

Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:15 am

@Adam84
Use PFIFO kind of queue and 'pfifo-limit' parameter as described in Wiki:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Qu ... d_MQ_PFIFO

HTH,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
Adam84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Queue size=0 problem

Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:58 am

I did that, and it doesn't work as described in wiki. When I set queue type to pfifo with pfifo-limit=0 (according to wiki it should work as 100% shaper), it's impossible to reach max-bandwidth of queue. It drops everything, and none traffic is passing.
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: Queue size=0 problem

Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:16 pm

@Adam84

ros code

pfifo-limit=1

'0' means there is no buffer space for any packet, hence everything is dropped.

HTH,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
Adam84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Queue size=0 problem

Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:46 pm

I also tried that, with pfifo-limit=1 and max-bandwidth of queue set to 2M there is only around 300k achievable. IMO there is no way to achieve 100% shaper in RoS as described in wiki. Some packets always will be queded (even if max-bandwidth isn't reached).
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 616
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Queue size=0 problem

Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:13 pm

I have same problem . To prevent DOS/DDOS attacks to overload queuing process of router . My researches shows less queue size = less cpu usage under attack to clients .
MTCNA , MTCRE, MTCWE, Mikrotik Certified Trainer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 110 guests