Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
beb
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:17 am

rb2011 reset button

Wed Nov 28, 2012 8:09 am

The user guide for the RouterBOARD 2011U talks about a reset button (top of page).
Can anyone point me to where it is on the device?

The guide also refers to an image (Reset1) - which I cannot find either (I must be going blind).

Thanks!

P.S. I need the reset to recover from loading a configuration that puts the router into an inaccessible state. Now if someone has a trick for avoiding this that would be even better than all the reset buttons in the world.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: rb2011 reset button

Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:19 am

if you look at this picture:
https://picasaweb.google.com/quindor/RB ... 5267566242

then near wireless shield ( that is top right corner of the router) then look at shield top left corner of it, there is reset button and reset hole. Short that hole and power up the router. You will be back with no configuration what so ever.

All rb2011 series routers have reset hole positioned in that place. If you have serial console on the router then reset button will work same way as it is on RB1000 not as on RB750 for serial-console-less routers. This might be subject to change however.
 
Basiley
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: rb2011 reset button

Thu Dec 06, 2012 4:24 pm

oh, i was made same mistake during similar attempt to reset config.
generally switch hard to reach from default MicroTik enclosure and hole not marked at all[even simple Triangle or "R" letter would help Alot, i guess].
tried use plastic ties[used in cabling sometimes], but occasionally found video on Youtube about hole and screw usage.
maybe simple picture in [new version]user manual for this model - prevent similar issues for others consumers ?
tnx
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: rb2011 reset button

Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:54 am

there is also a reset button on the back. no need to open the case
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Basiley
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: rb2011 reset button

Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:59 am

tried button too on my 2011, but it simply didn't work at all. maybe faulty element, for example.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: rb2011 reset button

Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:06 pm

RB2011 is preinstalled with some older RouterBOOT, you probably have one of those. In that case, the button simply starts Netinstall. To make it reset, push the button right AFTER you apply power.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
astern
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:11 am
Location: San Francisco

Re: rb2011 reset button

Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:39 pm

Can you please append this information in the Quickstart and manuals/wiki?

I had to find this out the hard way.
 
Basiley
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: rb2011 reset button

Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:54 pm

button return to work, after i do secondary attempt to update [shipped with 5.21 if i remember correctly]firmware to 6.0rc5.
my mistake was in uploading bunch of separate packages[probably some of them inconsistent/incorrect]. so after uploading one 10Mb file instead of bunch of different, reboot/reset/config - button start workin.
suggestion: 2sec delay default kinda small. changed to 3sec. not interefere/annoy, but not demand acrobatic/atletic skill anymore to use.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: rb2011 reset button

Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:55 am

button also works correctly, if you upgrade the bootloader to 3.02
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Basiley
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: rb2011 reset button

Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:29 pm

button also works correctly, if you upgrade the bootloader to 3.02
oh, i cannot restore sequence completely, but in in both cases im updated firmware[just as suggested wiki, like update itself suggested by paper in RouterBoard box/package(which is nice advice, btw)] after uploading fresh ROS[6.0rc5 each attempt], after restart, but only worked after im uploaded one-file update[not bunch of smaller&one big packages]and updated it.
anyway its working fine now, but thanks alot for clarifying/pointing this out for me.
 
daijizai
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:29 pm

Re: rb2011 reset button

Fri Dec 14, 2012 3:16 pm

I hate to Shanghai a thread, but I am having pretty much the same problem, and the OP said he is good, so I didn't see the point in opening a new post. I blew out the RouterOS with 5.22 via netinstall, now my RB2011 is not handing out DHCP or offering wireless.

The manual doesn't really say what to do after netinstall, and so I am assuming that I blew out the config in its entirety.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I have tried some targeted forum searches, but it seems my n00bness with RouterOS means I don't know what to search for. This kind of networking is not squarely in my wheelhouse.

I do not have a console cable, but will get what I need to use if for later. In the interim, I am hoping that there is a solution that will get me there without console access. For instance, is there a RB2011UAS-HnD-IN default configuration RSC file that I can upload with flashfig from netinstall that I simply don't know how to find?
 
drmark
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 5:26 am

Re: rb2011 reset button

Sun Dec 16, 2012 5:33 am

button also works correctly, if you upgrade the bootloader to 3.02
good to know - i will have to look into updating the bootloader code

i as well did not see any reset button on the back of the case
so i opened the case to find the button - perhaps a label would be informative to users?

as well i found it interesting that the powerplug is held within the case (unique but not useful)
seems odd not to have the plug accessible from the exterior of the case
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: rb2011 reset button

Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:50 am

I hate to Shanghai a thread, but I am having pretty much the same problem, and the OP said he is good, so I didn't see the point in opening a new post. I blew out the RouterOS with 5.22 via netinstall, now my RB2011 is not handing out DHCP or offering wireless.

The manual doesn't really say what to do after netinstall, and so I am assuming that I blew out the config in its entirety.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I have tried some targeted forum searches, but it seems my n00bness with RouterOS means I don't know what to search for. This kind of networking is not squarely in my wheelhouse.

I do not have a console cable, but will get what I need to use if for later. In the interim, I am hoping that there is a solution that will get me there without console access. For instance, is there a RB2011UAS-HnD-IN default configuration RSC file that I can upload with flashfig from netinstall that I simply don't know how to find?
connect with Winbox and use the [..] button to search the device MAC address. Use the Ether1 port. It will find the address, click on it to connect. Then you can re-apply the configuration. I will try to find the full config and will post here
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: rb2011 reset button

Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:50 am

button also works correctly, if you upgrade the bootloader to 3.02
good to know - i will have to look into updating the bootloader code

i as well did not see any reset button on the back of the case
so i opened the case to find the button - perhaps a label would be informative to users?

as well i found it interesting that the powerplug is held within the case (unique but not useful)
seems odd not to have the plug accessible from the exterior of the case
It is meant to prevent accidental disconnection. Our next update of the case design will have the plug outside. The reset button is accessible from ourside of the case, there is no label at the moment.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
donjames
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:07 pm
Location: Henderson, Texas
Contact:

Re: rb2011 reset button

Thu Mar 28, 2013 6:23 am

I have a new RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN (3/27/2013). I am trying to find the reset button that is supposed to be on the back of the case.

Is there a picture that shows exactly where this button is?

Thanks,

donjames
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: rb2011 reset button

Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:20 am

_DSC2594.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
donjames
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:07 pm
Location: Henderson, Texas
Contact:

Re: rb2011 reset button

Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:41 pm

Hi,

This is exactly what I needed -- the exact location of the reset button. I used a 3/5-inch tiewrap to insert into the rectangular hole and access the reset button.

Thanks,

donjames
 
beb
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:17 am

Re: rb2011 reset button

Thu Jun 26, 2014 4:06 am

Hi,

This is exactly what I needed -- the exact location of the reset button. I used a 3/5-inch tiewrap to insert into the rectangular hole and access the reset button.

Thanks,

donjames
Just found that under RoS V6 you can reset from the LCD (last menu). Default password is 1234.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: IPANetEngineer and 59 guests