Community discussions

 
User avatar
aacable
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:58 am
Location: ISLAMIC Republic of PAKISTAN
Contact:

virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:02 am

Its a good idea to virtualize various servers so underutilized hardware can be used more effeciently, as now a days, getting good hardware is not a big deal. It can save considerable amount of power consumption , reduce heat factor , easy to mange VM using various tools, live migrations, backup restore becomes very easy and the list goes on . . .

http://aacable.wordpress.com/2012/12/10 ... resources/
_____________
Regard's

Syed Jahanzaib
Web: http://aacable.wordpress.com
Email: aacable [at] hotmail.com
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:30 pm

it is generally good idea. however you will get reduced performance compared to RouterOS running on bare metal.
 
User avatar
aacable
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:58 am
Location: ISLAMIC Republic of PAKISTAN
Contact:

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Wed Dec 12, 2012 5:50 am

If good modern hardware is used, and software is configured correctly, then there will be no difference in most cases.
I have used 3 machines (1-Mikrotik + 2-Squid + 3-Radius )in one virtual server and tested few results and found it better then RB in most cases. Specially the
The hardware I used was.
IBM xSeries M4 Dual Processors with Quadx2 Cores/ 16GB Ram / Raid 10 / Gigabit network.
_____________
Regard's

Syed Jahanzaib
Web: http://aacable.wordpress.com
Email: aacable [at] hotmail.com
 
ladeza009
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:07 am
Location: Phlippines

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:24 am

Sir,

When installing the mikrotik v6.0rc11 in vmware 5.1, no drives found.

Any advice?

Please see attached.

Thanks,
Leon
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
aacable
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:58 am
Location: ISLAMIC Republic of PAKISTAN
Contact:

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:38 am

Try adding Hard drive as IDE in vm guest.
_____________
Regard's

Syed Jahanzaib
Web: http://aacable.wordpress.com
Email: aacable [at] hotmail.com
 
ladeza009
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:07 am
Location: Phlippines

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am

Sir,

Still no harddrive found.

How to add the hard drive as IDE in guest OS?

Thanks,
Leon
 
ladeza009
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:07 am
Location: Phlippines

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:54 am

Ok.now installing

Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests