Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
cking
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:53 pm

Migrating from RB1200 to CCR1016-12G

Thu Jun 27, 2013 6:33 pm

Hello.

I've recently upgraded to a CCR1016-12G router from an RB1200 router, and after copying my configuration over it doesn't seem to work. It seems like the Ethernet ports don't map properly from the old router to the new router. Are there any significant differences that would cause this to happen?



EDIT: Spelling.
 
tylerweik
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:01 pm

Re: Migrating from RB1200 to CCR1016-12G

Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:46 pm

I have a very similar need. One thing I noticed that has thrown me off is that the Eth ports on the CloudCore router are numbered 11-22 instead of 1-12, and I wonder if that has something to do with it. Is anyone aware of a guide, tutorial or forum post that describes the ways in which the config of an RB1000-series router needs to be modified to function for a CCR router?

Thanks in advance.
 
disca
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:04 pm

Re: Migrating from RB1200 to CCR1016-12G

Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:20 am

I've had lots of issues like that moving between Mikrotik models before.

IMHO the best and safest thing to do is to import the config manually. I.e export the various sections and import them one by one correcting any issues that will arise as a result of different interface numbers etc. Very time consuming but safe.

I never felt confident enough to run with a router that hadn't imported the config 100% correct - after all if the interface numbers are messed up how do you know what else could also have not imported correctly?
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1467
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Migrating from RB1200 to CCR1016-12G

Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:23 am

use script based export for copying to another hardware...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nemke and 40 guests