Community discussions

 
tabate47
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:23 am
Location: Los Angeles

Open DNS and Mikrotik

Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:29 pm

I would like to protect the kids from the internet in general. I have been looking at opendns and it seems like the way to go.

Is opendns the best way to do this?

If so, I have a dynamic ip address. Is there a way to keep my ip address in sync on the Mikrotik router?

Thanks.
 
User avatar
pcunite
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:13 am
Location: USA

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Sat Oct 12, 2013 9:13 pm

I've just started using OpenDNS ... seems to work well enough. There is no issue with a dynamic IP. Just set your DNS under IP / DNS Settings to use OpenDNS's ip addresses. As far as securing your computers, consider setting up SRP.
 
tabate47
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:23 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Sun Oct 13, 2013 12:58 am

What happens to your custom settings when your dynamic ip changes?
 
tabate47
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:23 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Sun Oct 13, 2013 9:51 am

That is the dilemma... how do you keep your dynamic ip address current on the mikrotik so that you don't lose your opendns settings?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1707
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:26 pm

http://www.opendns.com/support/dynamic_ip_tech/

Just use a hostname. Haven't tested it, but is from their faq

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
tabate47
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:23 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Sun Oct 13, 2013 8:18 pm

Are you saying their host name? If so, how do you keep it up to date? Is there a script that works for the mikrotik with the hostname?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1707
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Sun Oct 13, 2013 8:39 pm

Are you saying their host name? If so, how do you keep it up to date? Is there a script that works for the mikrotik with the hostname?
I believe you make your "label" marked as dynamic through the dashboard... then you can use the following URL to update the IP

https://UserID:Password@updates.opendns ... rLabelName
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1707
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Sun Oct 13, 2013 8:41 pm

Are you saying their host name? If so, how do you keep it up to date? Is there a script that works for the mikrotik with the hostname?
I believe you make your "label" marked as dynamic through the dashboard... then you can use the following URL to update the IP

https://UserID:Password@updates.opendns ... rLabelName

DNS-O-Matic also seems to support updating an OpenDNS Label
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:00 am

I have used it for over 2 years now and love it. If you have windows or Mac use the opendns Clint that will update you ip to opendns if changed. http://vwww.opendns.com/support/



Sent from my RM-821_eu_sweden_235 using Tapatalk
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1707
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:33 am

If you want to run a script on your router here you go... Basically ensure that your "label" is marked as Dynamic on OpenDNS... then put the label, username, and password in the script. Run it every 10 minutes or whatever. If you wanted to you could make it check the current vs the old IP and only fetch if they differ...

ros code

#.* by RouterOS
#
# EntryDNS Update Script
#

#
# Variables
#
:local openDNSUsername "USERNAME"
:local openDNSPassword "PASSWORD"
:local openDNSHostname "LABEL"

#
# Script
#
/tool fetch url="https://updates.opendns.com/nic/update? ... NSHostname" \
    user="$openDNSUsername" password="$openDNSPassword" \
    mode=https keep-result=no
 
tabate47
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:23 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:44 am

Thanks Eric. I will give it a try.

Do you think it makes a difference if I check it and only fetch if it differs?

Also, does checking every 10 minutes tax the router or bandwidth in any way?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1707
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:48 am

Shouldn't make a difference. And unless your on dial up the bandwidth is negligible.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
tabate47
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:23 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:32 pm

To be clear, am I correct in saying this script sends my current public IP address to opendns to always keep it current?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1707
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:49 pm

It actually doesn't send any ip. Their server uses the ip the request came from.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
BS85
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 8:52 am
Location: UK

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:11 pm

 
Etza
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 10:33 pm

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Fri Feb 27, 2015 5:27 pm

hi
what hapen in load balance ?
i have 4 wan load balance and 4 opendns network, how can update every wan ??
 
User avatar
nichky
Member
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:35 pm

Re: Open DNS and Mikrotik

Tue Dec 27, 2016 9:57 am

What was my problem using OpenDNS. So it's working great but after couple of days OpenDNS servers disappear, and the customer can open any web side who i've been blocked on OpenDNS. Is anyone familiar with that?
FxUxRx
Struga/Macedonia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests