Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
RioCities
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 4:16 am

RB951Ui w/ POE PTP Bridged SM

Thu Oct 31, 2013 4:24 am

Here is my problem

I would like to use the POE port to power a PTP Wireless Bridge

I cannot seem to get the port 5 to be a WAN port, while allowing ports 1-4 to be edge with the RB951 doing DHCP to ports 1-4 and the Wireless

Is this possible to do using the GUI?
 
thasser
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:28 pm

Re: RB951Ui w/ POE PTP Bridged SM

Thu Oct 31, 2013 4:35 pm

riocities,

I would suggest using the winbox gui. This should be easily implementable on the RB9XX series. What I believe You would need to do is remove all settings from your router, AKA reset to factory defaults and reboot. From there you will remove configuration (pop-up window on first logon) when you log back in (log in via layer 2/MAC address winbox login, because your .88 IP will be removed). Once you are here, create a bridge using eth1 - eth4 and also wlan1 in the bridge. For eth5, enable PoE (do not force, try automatic first) and you should have power to your PTP radio. Next, go to DHCP Server -> Click the red add button, and select the bridge you created previously as your interface. You should be good to go.

Do you need help setting up your PTP bridge as well? From your set-up it seems like a CPE/receiving side of the PTP bridge.
 
RioCities
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 4:16 am

Re: RB951Ui w/ POE PTP Bridged SM

Thu Oct 31, 2013 6:20 pm

I reset to factory default
Logged into with 88.1
Reset Config
Checked No Default
Logged into with Winbox and Mac
Create Bridge, Ports Eth 1-4 WLAN 1
Create DHCP Server
"Router Disconnected"
Brick
No DHCP on any port, cannot Winbox back into it, just sits there
 
thasser
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:28 pm

Re: RB951Ui w/ POE PTP Bridged SM

Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:08 pm

Sorry for the late reply. What is your status here?

You should still be able to winbox into your RB951 via a mac winbox logon, does it not show up in winbox at all, even when trying ports 1-4? Also, I am not sure of your exact configuration needs, but it seems you want to make port 5 into a gateway/PoE Port. If this is true than you would also need a masquerade firewall rule to differentiate your lan and wan network. Also, the config you mentioned earlier should work fine (not sure why you would be disconnected when turning on DHCP Server given that you were connected via layer-2).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jmnicolas and 101 guests