Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
nerdtron
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:49 am

Help configuring interfaces WAN

Mon Dec 02, 2013 3:23 am

Hi all,
I have a Mikrotik RB951Ui with a total 5 LAN ports in which port 1 is the WAN port. It came with the default configuration. But I want to have dual wan setup so I want port 2 to act as WAN2 port. I can't seem to figure out how to start the configuration.
I can only access the device using the lan ports since it doesn't have any console port and every time I change the settings of interfaces in the WebFig, I get disconnected.

Any suggestions on how to work this out?
 
aaronhun22
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 2:15 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Re: Help configuring interfaces WAN

Tue Dec 03, 2013 2:19 am

When playing with the interfaces use winbox and connect using the MAC address or leave your WAN2 interface disabled until you're done making changes to the mangle rules.
 
nerdtron
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:49 am

Re: Help configuring interfaces WAN

Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:50 am

Great, thanks for your reply. I am now using winbox, but I still get disconnected when I disable port 2? I think it's because the master-local port and the other port are dependent on it?
Can you explain the structure of these interfaces and how do I make them independent of each other?

Thank you for your support and sorry for my simple questions, I'm new to this router OS and reading the docs seems to assume that you already want to assign interfaces as wan port although I can't assign them now because there is a default config.

Thank you again. And here's the default interfaces config.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Help configuring interfaces WAN

Tue Dec 03, 2013 9:42 am

If you would like to have 2 individual WAN ports, you should not set the two desired ports as master port or add them to a bridge.
Seen from the picture ether2 is set master over 3-5. Set 4 and 5 to have ether3 as master and set master-port on ether3 to none.
Then ether 1,2 and 3 are separated with 4 and 5 slaved to 3, which will give you a 3-port switching and 2 dedicated WAN ports.

NB. The things shown in the picture are only names and are not hard related to the config. I suggest you rename the interfaces to reflect their function.
(ether1-gateway, ether2-gateway, ether3-master-local)
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 8cqv, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 120 guests