Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
mattamondo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 3:45 am

adsl/ppoe all rx bandwidth choked

Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:01 pm

Hi, First post and first time user of an rb750 (impressed)

I am based in the UK and have a normal BT internet connection over adsl.

After proiblems with double nat and hairpinning issues I finally found a set up that worked and bridge the isp connection through a modem into wan port correctly. The Home/Business Hub supplied by BT is a nightmare to try and get connected. Good on its own but not in combination with an extrernal router.

So eventually I got a Dlink 320 and again with some experimenting I managed to bridge it and setup a ppoe interface to supply the user/pass to connect

Everything seemed fine until I noticed that my web pages were extremely slow loading. I have an 8mb download and about a 2.5mb upload normally. Speedtest confirmed I have an issue. 7-8 mb download (fine) upload .37mb (grrrrrr)

I initially was going to jump straight on to the isp but held back and did some checking., I thought maybe a client on the lan was uploading , poss an ftp upload of my server backup.

I went to interfaces and noted that the lan 1 port was not really doing anything but the ppoe and wan were going mental on the Rx.

It appears to throttle up the speed right up to 2.2 sometimes 3-4 mb and then drops off. this is just between the ppoe and the wan ports. i tried a torch approach to see if i could see anything but just see the 0.0.0.0 again throttling up and dying off.

There are plenty of posts regarding speed issues but nothing that seems to include this.

Has anyone any ideas, i am in the middle of sorting my firewall settings. Copy/Paste from the basic firewall page but i thought i would throw a post on in the mean time as i am not convinced this is a firewall issue. Its not effecting the lan at all.

i am running 6.7 and am very new to the routerboard so please be gentle.

# jan/18/2014 14:53:57 by RouterOS 6.7
# software id = 90Z9-0S79
#
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=ether1-Wan
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] name=ether2-Lan
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] name=ether3-Guest-Access
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] master-port=ether2-Lan name=\
ether4-slave-local
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] master-port=ether2-Lan name=\
ether5-slave-local
/interface pppoe-client
add add-default-route=yes disabled=no interface=ether1-Wan name=pppoe-out1 \
password=******** use-peer-dns=yes user=*******@hg7.btclick.com
/ip hotspot user profile
set [ find default=yes ] idle-timeout=none keepalive-timeout=2m \
mac-cookie-timeout=3d
/ip ipsec proposal
set [ find default=yes ] enc-algorithms=3des
/ip pool
add name=default-dhcp ranges=192.168.0.100-192.168.0.254
add name="Wifi Guest Pool" ranges=192.168.1.10-192.168.1.100
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=default-dhcp disabled=no interface=ether2-Lan lease-time=1d \
name=default
add address-pool="Wifi Guest Pool" disabled=no interface=ether3-Guest-Access \
lease-time=1d name="Wifi Guest DHCP"
/system logging action
set 0 memory-lines=100
set 1 disk-lines-per-file=100
/ip address
add address=192.168.0.1/24 comment="default configuration" interface=\
ether2-Lan network=192.168.0.0
add address=192.168.1.10/24 disabled=yes interface=ether1-Wan network=\
192.168.1.0
add address=192.168.1.1/24 interface=ether3-Guest-Access network=192.168.1.0
/ip dhcp-client
add default-route-distance=0 dhcp-options=hostname,clientid interface=\
ether1-Wan
/ip dhcp-server config
set store-leases-disk=1m
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.0.0/24 comment="default configuration" dns-server=\
192.168.0.1 gateway=192.168.0.1
add address=192.168.1.0/24 dns-server=192.168.1.1 domain=wifiguest gateway=\
192.168.1.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.0.1 name=router
add address=192.168.0.40 name=**************
/ip firewall address-list
add address=192.168.0.0/24 list=support
add address=0.0.0.0/8 comment="Self-Identification [RFC 3330]" list=bogons
add address=127.0.0.0/16 comment=loopback list=bogons
add address=169.254.0.0/16 comment="Link Local [RFC 3330]" list=bogons
add address=172.16.0.0/12 comment="Private[RFC 1918] - CLASS B #" disabled=\
yes list=bogons
add address=192.168.0.0/16 comment="Private[RFC 1918] - CLASS C #" disabled=\
yes list=bogons
add address=192.0.2.0/24 comment="Reserved - IANA - TestNet1" list=bogons
add address=192.88.99.0/24 comment="6to4 Relay Anycast [RFC 3068]" list=\
bogons
add address=198.18.0.0/15 comment="NIDB Testing" list=bogons
add address=198.51.100.0/24 comment="Reserved - IANA - TestNet2" list=bogons
add address=203.0.113.0/24 comment="Reserved - IANA - TestNet3" list=bogons
add address=224.0.0.0/4 comment="MC, Class D, IANA # " disabled=yes list=\
bogons
/ip firewall filter
add chain=input comment="default configuration" protocol=icmp
add chain=input comment="default configuration" connection-state=established
add chain=input comment="default configuration" connection-state=related
add action=drop chain=input comment="default configuration" in-interface=\
ether1-Wan
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment=hairpin dst-address=192.168.0.40 \
dst-port=80 protocol=tcp src-address=192.168.0.0/24
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat dst-address=81.133.***.*** dst-port=80 \
protocol=tcp to-addresses=192.168.0.40 to-ports=80
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat dst-address=81.133.***.***dst-port=443 \
protocol=tcp to-addresses=192.168.0.40 to-ports=443
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat dst-address=81.133.***.*** dst-port=5060-5061 \
protocol=udp to-addresses=192.168.0.51 to-ports=5060-5061
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat dst-address=81.133.***.*** dst-port=5100-5123 \
protocol=udp to-addresses=192.168.0.51 to-ports=5100-5123
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat dst-address=81.133.***.*** dst-port=5566 \
protocol=tcp to-addresses=192.168.0.51 to-ports=5566
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="default configuration" \
out-interface=pppoe-out1 to-addresses=0.0.0.0
/ip proxy
set parent-proxy=0.0.0.0
/ip service
set www port=**
set ssh disabled=yes
set api disabled=yes
/ip upnp
set enabled=yes
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes mode=unicast primary-ntp=82.68.206.125 secondary-ntp=\
217.114.59.3
/tool mac-server
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=yes
add interface=ether2-Lan
add interface=ether3-Guest-Access
add interface=ether4-slave-local
add interface=ether5-slave-local
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=yes
add interface=ether2-Lan
add interface=ether3-Guest-Access
add interface=ether4-slave-local
add interface=ether5-slave-local

***** denotes privacy

i hope there is enough info for you to help. Maybe there is something i did wrong in the config.

My main lan is 192.168.0.0/24 for internal computers
I have 192.168.1.0/24 set for a wifi hotspot running through a motorola wp5100 and some access points

Please remember that i am only half way through the firewall setup that is why it is incomplete

thanks for any help
Matt
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: adsl/ppoe all rx bandwidth choked

Sat Jan 25, 2014 2:45 pm

Hey Matt. Any joy with this? I'm also in the UK and always willing to help out a fellow Brit.
 
mattamondo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 3:45 am

Re: adsl/ppoe all rx bandwidth choked

Sat Jan 25, 2014 3:05 pm

hi mate.

Well i got a bit further, its a learning curve.

I found out why my bandwidth was throttling so much. it appears I was being hit on port 53 inbound so I blocked all incoming dns requests on 53 and that stopped, I was also being hit on my sip ports, I have voip on 5060 and that was being slaughtered as well. I blocked the individual ip address on that.

I still have not got my upload speed sorted, Still only got .47mb up speed and should have at least 2mb

I need to swap back to my bt business hub and try that. it may me a fault on there end but they will not support and other equipment so pointless ringing them with my current set up.

The mystery continues lol
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: adsl/ppoe all rx bandwidth choked

Sat Jan 25, 2014 3:56 pm

Sounds like you might be on the right track. hit me off list at paul at hendry dot tc if you want me to take a look.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 63 guests