Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
estdata
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:05 pm
Contact:

virus signature database settings idea

Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:41 pm

Is there a way to adjust the router database of viruses?
that, then, is trying to stick to viruses
don't forget to give me karma if got help
....
 
User avatar
Jetrider
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 11:31 am

Re: virus signature database settings idea

Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:54 am

What did I just read ? Rephrase please, good sir.
 
User avatar
saaremaa
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:48 pm
Location: Baltijos šalių miestas

Re: virus signature database settings idea

Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:20 pm

Specify in more detail the idea / question.
CMDR Saaremaa (Gutamaya Sierra Alpha Alpha)
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: virus signature database settings idea

Wed Feb 26, 2014 6:17 am

Is there a way to adjust the router database of viruses?
that, then, is trying to stick to viruses
There is no "router database of viruses". There is no anti-virus software on the router.

If you want to detect viruses, you should install an anti-virus program on your computer.
 
estdata
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: virus signature database settings idea

Wed Feb 26, 2014 6:40 pm

Is there a way to adjust the router database of viruses?
that, then, is trying to stick to viruses
There is no "router database of viruses". There is no anti-virus software on the router.

If you want to detect viruses, you should install an anti-virus program on your computer.
Could still be. Invalid package moves then you may also discover them for viruses. Is not difficult to make a virus database
don't forget to give me karma if got help
....
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: virus signature database settings idea

Wed Feb 26, 2014 6:45 pm

Is there a way to adjust the router database of viruses?
that, then, is trying to stick to viruses
There is no "router database of viruses". There is no anti-virus software on the router.

If you want to detect viruses, you should install an anti-virus program on your computer.
Could still be. Invalid package moves then you may also discover them for viruses. Is not difficult to make a virus database
This does not make any sense. Are you saying that there might be viruses in the Mikrotik Packages???? The router itself cannot get a virus, unless maybe you are installing hacked/pirated mikrotik software. Is that what you are talking about???

You need to be very specific about what you are asking.
 
User avatar
Kreacher
Member
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:58 pm
Location: Hogwarts

Re: virus signature database settings idea

Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:08 am

Is there a way to adjust the router database of viruses?
that, then, is trying to stick to viruses
There is no "router database of viruses". There is no anti-virus software on the router.

If you want to detect viruses, you should install an anti-virus program on your computer.
Could still be. Invalid package moves then you may also discover them for viruses. Is not difficult to make a virus database
The only way to do so I was knowing is to insert a driver inside of RouterOS
and then you have to insert a miniPCI card thats speeding up DPI (deep packet inspection)
with this method you will be speeding up those entire process, because it mostly harms the
CPU power, but this is not a 100% choice to get rid of those things, and detect them all
like P2P exchange, viruses, or a better performing IDS function.

Here is the only card I am knowing and this was produced by Lanner Inc.
and is actual set EoL (End of Live) http://www.lannerinc.com/products/eol-p ... annic-100a
Kindly regards
Kreacher ♬

--------------------------------------
Karma points must not be paid by you
 
astern
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:11 am
Location: San Francisco

Re: virus signature database settings idea

Fri Feb 28, 2014 5:54 am

Ugh, the return of "dobby"

If you cannot add to the conversation, please don't waste any space adding useless unrelated pablum.

And FYI, Lanner makes a packet processing engine card for ids/ips, dpi, and crypto based on the exact same tilera cpu as the ccr1036. so OP's poorly translated question about adding ids/ips/virus scanning capability to ROS, becomes a lot more interesting.

http://www.lannerinc.com/products/x86-n ... ncs-mtx401

The only way to do so I was knowing is to insert a driver inside of RouterOS
and then you have to insert a miniPCI card thats speeding up DPI (deep packet inspection)
with this method you will be speeding up those entire process, because it mostly harms the
CPU power, but this is not a 100% choice to get rid of those things, and detect them all
like P2P exchange, viruses, or a better performing IDS function.

Here is the only card I am knowing and this was produced by Lanner Inc.
and is actual set EoL (End of Live) http://www.lannerinc.com/products/eol-p ... annic-100a
 
User avatar
Kreacher
Member
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:58 pm
Location: Hogwarts

Re: virus signature database settings idea

Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:13 am

@astern
Ugh, the return of "dobby"
If you don´t like me, please also don´t troll me!
If you cannot add to the conversation, please don't
waste any space
adding useless unrelated pablum.
Why, because you say it?
And FYI, Lanner makes a packet processing engine card for ids/ips, dpi,
But this was not the entire question where the post where starting up with!
And a real virus database is not really out there to use inside ROS!
But something that was in the past giving the capability to sniff also for viruses!

And this card can only be inserted in Lanners own appliances,
like the
FW-8895 because it is not a regular PCIe card!
and crypto based on the exact same tilera cpu as the ccr1036.

And? Then the card is not needed for the ROS for Tilera platforms
because this can be easily integrated in ROS for CCR series directly.
so OP's poorly translated question
No but trolling me is the answer?
about adding ids/ips/virus scanning capability to ROS, becomes a lot more interesting.
So than open your own post or should I ask you even first if I want to enter one?
Kindly regards
Kreacher ♬

--------------------------------------
Karma points must not be paid by you

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chupaka, jdejansb, Sob and 78 guests