Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Pirlet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:13 pm

Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 1:11 pm

Hello,

I have a Dual Gateway failover in place, and I'd like to do the following:

Whenever the route switches from WAN1 to WAN2 (and the other way around). I'd like to reset my SIP phones remotely.

this can be done by browsing to the following URL: http://192.168.xxx.xxx/admin/reboot for Cisco and http://phoneIP/advanced_update.htm?reboot=Reboot (Snom)

How can this be achieved?
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:09 pm

You can not achieve that, because you must authenticate on the phone/ATA before launching that URL.
 
Pirlet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:13 pm

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:27 pm

Well, apparently it works without authenticating. Just browsing to that URL would do the trick, since they're not protected with a password.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:29 pm

Cisco & Snom are really so IDIOTS? :shock:


Have you tried wit one device never used for access internal setings?
 
Pirlet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:13 pm

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:38 pm

When I browse on my PC to that link of the phone, it just reboots.
So I'd like to know if there's a way I can implement this in somesort of a script.
 
User avatar
Kickoleg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 3:13 pm
Location: Yverdon-les-Bains, Suisse

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:49 pm

Disbale -active URL- in configuration of phones. This is popular way to hack IP phone and do fraud trafic.
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE certified
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:53 pm

Very buggy programmers....
 
User avatar
Kickoleg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 3:13 pm
Location: Yverdon-les-Bains, Suisse

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:56 pm

It's not BUG :) It's feature :)
Its using in closed network with local IP PBX.
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE certified
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:02 pm

It's not BUG :) It's feature :)
Its using in closed network with local IP PBX.
For me is one excuse (the feature) for buggy programmers.

The right way to do that?

deviceip/reset?superuser=supername&superpassword=nowisbetter

or

http://username:password@ipphone/reset
 
User avatar
Kickoleg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 3:13 pm
Location: Yverdon-les-Bains, Suisse

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:10 pm

No ! RESET-no ! Reboot-yes for provising services, and feature "direct call" using active URL, using by some PBX.
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE certified
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:13 pm

Ok, on example I put reset, but I really want write reboot...
 
User avatar
Kickoleg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 3:13 pm
Location: Yverdon-les-Bains, Suisse

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:26 pm

nothing happen ... only 2-3 command allowed by active url ...
it's using usually for first remote configuration.
As routers ,after set configuration necessary to close all the holes :)
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE certified
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:32 pm

(remove extra "[" on your signature... :roll: )
 
User avatar
Kickoleg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 3:13 pm
Location: Yverdon-les-Bains, Suisse

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:36 pm

Senx :)
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE certified
 
Pirlet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:13 pm

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:47 pm

So, is there a way to script this into an RB2011?

I'd like to send these commands to internal IP phones
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:54 pm

Use "fetch" command, search on th wiki for syntax
 
Pirlet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:13 pm

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:19 pm

So, I got this to work for the Cisco phones with:
/tool fetch mode=http port=80 url=http://192.168.88.xxx/admin/reboot

But I cannot seem to get the Snomphones working, because I cannot type a "?" into the command line as URL...
I should use this:
/tool fetch mode=http port=80 url=http://192.168.88.xxx/advanced_update.htm?reboot=Reboot
But the "?" isn't working. I cannot type it...

How can I fix this?
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:23 pm

FAST REPLY:

put \ before ? on command line, but on saved script do not put the \
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:16 am

And in case you have plenty of phones, you might want to add them to an address list (which might come in handy for other stuff as well) and embrace the fetch command in this statement:

ros code

:foreach i in=[/ip firewall address-list find list=ipPhones] do={
#your fetch statement here - replace the address with $[/ip firewall address-list get $i address]
}
-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Thu Jul 17, 2014 6:29 pm

:foreach i in=[/ip firewall address-list find where list="ipPhones"] do={
 :local ip value=[/ip firewall address-list get $i value-name=address];
 /tool fetch keep-result=no mode=http port=80 url=("http://".$ip."/admin/reboot");
 /tool fetch keep-result=no mode=http port=80 url=("http://".$ip."/advanced_update.htm?reboot=Reboot");
};
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Thu Jul 17, 2014 6:51 pm

Eager beaver :D
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Thu Jul 17, 2014 6:56 pm

Eager beaver :D
Thanks! :lol:

Image
 
User avatar
jspool
Member
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:06 am
Location: Oregon

Re: Remote reboot IP Phones by URL (Cisco & Snom)

Sun Jul 20, 2014 8:45 am

Hello,

I have a Dual Gateway failover in place, and I'd like to do the following:

Whenever the route switches from WAN1 to WAN2 (and the other way around). I'd like to reset my SIP phones remotely.

this can be done by browsing to the following URL: http://192.168.xxx.xxx/admin/reboot for Cisco and http://phoneIP/advanced_update.htm?reboot=Reboot (Snom)

How can this be achieved?
Do you host your own PBX server at another location or do you get your PBX through an outside company? Being an ITSP I ran into that issue many times and successfully implemented seamless transition between WAN connections without call interruption ;) I like it much better then having to do a reboot every time a route changes.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 5 guests