Community discussions

 
XeroX
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:04 pm

Find out what mac is on port x

Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:07 pm

Hey there,
got my first routerboard device and I'm quite happy with that.

I plugged in all my devices but now I need to find out what device is listening on a specific ethernet port?

How I can find out what mac address (device) is connected to a specific port?

Second question: Why isnt torch displaying pings or traffic on a ethernet port?

RouterOS: 6.19
Winbox: v3

Cheers
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Find out what mac is on port x

Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:38 am

Probably you have a bridge configured.
In that case alI mac addresses are connected to that bridge. As far as I know there is no possibility to see what device is connected to which port.
I also find this disappointing.

Regarding torch, the same reason could apply, however I never experienced such behavior.
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN
 
User avatar
CyberTod
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:23 am

Re: Find out what mac is on port x

Thu Sep 04, 2014 10:37 am

If the ports are bridged you can see that in Bridge -> Hosts
If the ports are in switch configuration the info is in Switch -> Host
And for the CRS series you can find it in Switch -> Unicast FDB
 
XeroX
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:04 pm

Re: Find out what mac is on port x

Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:01 pm

Hello guys,
thanks for your reply. So its intended to work like this.

I've a CRS, its working with Switch -> FDBs and Bridge -> Hosts.

Torch only works on Ether1-master-local (2-24 is Slave) and Ether1 (Uplink) is part of bridge1.

Port 24 shows some MACs of the ESXi vSwitches.

Still dont know which MAC is on which port but better than nothing :)

Thx
 
User avatar
CyberTod
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:23 am

Re: Find out what mac is on port x

Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:16 pm

It seems you are using them in switch configuration and that is the correct way to do it with CRS.
Bridge -> Hosts will show you only the master port, because it is the only one in bridge.
Switch -> Unicast FDB shows you every mac and the physical port it is connected to. Maybe see if the column 'Port' is visible.
Torch only seeing master port is also expected, because the packets go through the switch chip and not the cpu, that is why the os can't see them.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests