Community discussions

 
C0ReDuMP
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 8:11 pm

SFP Copper compatibility with CCR1016-12S-1S+

Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:00 pm

Hello,
I have a problem using some Solid Optics Copper SPF (CISCO CODED) with a MikroTik CCR1016-12S-1S+ upgraded to 6.19 version of RouterOS.

In particular, the SFP seems to be recognized by the MikroTik in fact issuing the command: "monitor sfp1" I get:

name: sfp1
status: no-link
auto-negotiation: done
advertising:
link-partner-advertising:
sfp-module-present: yes
sfp-rx-lose: no
sfp-tx-fault: no
sfp-link-length-copper: 100m
sfp-vendor-name: Solid-Optics
sfp-vendor-part-number: GLC-T-SO
sfp-vendor-revision: 2.0
sfp-vendor-serial: SOSR45C_3170
sfp-manufacturing-date: 14-08-08

But I can't get the link on the port neither with a straight cable nor with a crossover one.

Is there something I can do to make it work?

Eventually is it possible that MikroTik will add this SFP to the compatibility list with the next RouterOS release?

Thanks in Advance,
Davide
 
Zorro
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:43 pm

Re: SFP Copper compatibility with CCR1016-12S-1S+

Fri Sep 19, 2014 10:31 am

probably MT folks forget copper support for SFP/SFP+ ;)
and its not funny cause only way to get 10G-BASE-T support on uplinks today.
 
User avatar
doneware
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: SFP Copper compatibility with CCR1016-12S-1S+

Fri Sep 19, 2014 2:15 pm

the MTIK branded copper sfps work well. and they are cheap.

we used some from RMC, with firmware revision of 2012. they did not work. they were detected but no link at all.
then the same RMC sfps were flashed over with 2013 fw, and all the issues disappeared.

as far as i remember, original cisco GLC-Ts also worked pretty well.
#TR0359
 
Zorro
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:43 pm

Re: SFP Copper compatibility with CCR1016-12S-1S+

Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:52 pm

then "sfp-vendor-name: Solid-Optics" should interfere with "CISCO coded", unless im something misunderstand.
 
C0ReDuMP
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 8:11 pm

Re: SFP Copper compatibility with CCR1016-12S-1S+

Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:24 pm

Hello,
Finally, I found a way to use the Solid Optics SFP (Cisco Coded) on my CCR1016-12S-1S+:
- I disabled autonegotiation on the SFP port in which I installed the Solid Optic SFP (Cisco CODED)
- I forced the speed and duplex on the MikroTik SFP port to: 1Gbps - Full-Duplex

Now I can see the link on the port and it works perfectly.

There is a little backside effect configuring the port that way (with the Solid Optic SFP module): the port is always in running state also without the cable connected.

It seems an incompatibility between the Solid Optic SFP and the MikroTik. The issue seems to be related to link detection and/or autonegotiation.

I hope that MikroTik can solve this issue with a software update.

Davide
 
Zorro
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:43 pm

Re: SFP Copper compatibility with CCR1016-12S-1S+

Sat Sep 20, 2014 4:12 am

probably. as you can see both negotiation management and flow control on copper interfaces - added to ROS relatively recently. and may be not so mature as we're prefer to see.
 
marlen
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: SFP Copper compatibility with CCR1016-12S-1S+

Sat Oct 18, 2014 3:41 pm

hi i have the RB ccr1009-8G-1S but since i mountet the sfp on my router & let it full-dublex with 1000 base link ok . the sfp generates false upload trafik
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
murgatroid
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:16 am

Re: SFP Copper compatibility with CCR1016-12S-1S+

Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:49 am

This is an ongoing issue. Replicated with:
CCR1016-12S-1S+ R2
CCR212-10S-1G
CCR109-8G-1S

Optical SFP's work great. (FS.com in generic mode)
Copper SFP's are broken. (FS.com in generic, cisco, juniper, dell, ..... it makes no difference)

Setting to fixed speed/duplex puts the copper interface into Run mode, even when there is no link - so this in effect disables all link-detection capabilities of the router. It also doesn't receive any data.

I can use these same modules in other vendor's hardware in generic or specific firmware modes with no issues.

Mikrotik, can you please give a little more love to the Copper module driver? Just because we have SFP slots doesn't mean we want optics only!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests