Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Nicho
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:26 pm

Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:35 pm

Hi, I have a link configured (2x 5HPnD, distance 2km) for testing issue. I use the nv2 protocoll, N only, without encryption, both chains activated in routing mode.
When I use the bandwidth test from antenna to antenne it is about 100MBit, so perfect.
Now, when I copy some data or do a speedtest on the internet through the link I only got 9-12 MBit. What is the Problem? Maybe the packetsize? The packet loss is also very high in my opinion.

Can you help me to get the link work with a higher throughput? What is wrong?

Thx!
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:29 pm

What is your connection speed?

Second, do the bandwidth test with Torch running. I watch them from time to time. When I get good results, often my actual speeds are low. I've watched the actual download speed hit 10Mbps+ and had the test results show 3Mbps or less.
 
Nicho
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:26 pm

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Wed Sep 17, 2014 1:16 pm

Connection Speed is 50MBit/s Download and 1MBit Upload.
So the Problem is that I can't get more throughput then 10MBit/s download.

Torch shows the same. Any ideas how to speed up? Packetsize or anything else?

Bandwith between antennas: (UDP little higher, TCP as shown)
Bandwith.PNG
Advanced WLAN:
wlan.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
sonny
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:31 pm

Have you enabled wireless-fp package?
Karl Sonnleitner
Senior Wireless-Expert
Restlesspowerbox - managed powersupply for Routerboards
 
ManyX
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: PolanD

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Thu Oct 23, 2014 5:08 pm

I had the same problem.
When nv2 is used i cant't send more then 10Mbit/s i TCP. First bandwitdh test after wlan reconnect is correct 50 Mbit/s in 10MHz channel width but second bandwidth test show max only 10Mbit/s.

I have used ROS 6.20 and wireless-fp. Test is do between 2x sxt.
Interface queue is set to hw-queue-only for eth1 and wlan1, connection tacking is off.

But when I change to nstreme i have 45Mbit/s in TCP test with 1 connection

IMO in nv2 protocol something is wrong in TCP connection
 
zyzelis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:57 am

Manyx,
Try to change channel width to 20Mhz with NV2
 
Lakis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:52 pm

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Sat Oct 25, 2014 4:00 pm

I had the same problem.
When nv2 is used i cant't send more then 10Mbit/s i TCP. First bandwitdh test after wlan reconnect is correct 50 Mbit/s in 10MHz channel width but second bandwidth test show max only 10Mbit/s.

I have used ROS 6.20 and wireless-fp. Test is do between 2x sxt.
Interface queue is set to hw-queue-only for eth1 and wlan1, connection tacking is off.

But when I change to nstreme i have 45Mbit/s in TCP test with 1 connection

IMO in nv2 protocol something is wrong in TCP connection
Thats why nstreme rules :), almost I never use nv2 on p2p links
 
gius64
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:43 pm

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:35 am

Same problem here using nv2.
Using nstreme I solved the problem but it's not as stable as nv2, I get some disconnections...

MikroTik team, please, fix this :(
 
nxl
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:24 am

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Fri Jan 02, 2015 2:20 pm

Hey guys,

I think I know where the problem comes from: you start from Gigabit ethernet and somewhere on the link you are using Fast ethernet (maybe the end computer). This is a very BIG and OLD ISSUE with nv2 and gigabit that I can't imagine why it is still here.
Try this setting for every gigabit device on that link to force it into FastEthernet autonegotiation:
autonegFE.jpg
So, if you find this useful please everyone write to support@mikrotik.com. They need to resolve this otherwise the gigabit ports are USELESS.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2308
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:21 pm

And this settings solve problem? :shock:
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
nxl
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:24 am

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Sat Jan 03, 2015 12:28 am

NOT really. It is giving some improvements but is limiting the throughput to 100 Mbps and this BUG applies even for AC devices. :(
PLEASE write about this to MikroTik, I already did.
 
Nicho
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:26 pm

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:06 am

So, I've found the bug and I still can't believe. It was like nxl said (thx btw) a link between a switch and the router which was on 100MBit. But why is the throughput only 10MBit?!? After configuring everything on 1GBit everything works excellent.

Thx again!

^^Nicho
 
BramCoom
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:41 pm

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:47 pm

Hi all

I know I'm new here but I ran in to these problems before. With different hardware but essentially its the same problem.
The problem exists in the auto negotiation feature. When you have gigabit on one side an Fast Ethernet on the other or even maybe Fast Ethernet on both sides(mostly different hardware) auto negotiation fails. When it fails automatically both sides switch tot 100Mbps full duplex(throughput will be roughly 10 Mbit). When you do a ping test when there is lots of traffic(like a bandwidth test) you see the latency mount up to like 2 seconds and more. After that you get packet losses. When the link recovers you get better throughput and latency and the story starts all over again.

My advice to you: NEVER use auto negotiation in WAN or LAN Backbones. Always set your devices on fixed speed an duplex.

Kind regards

Bram

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jtzcarter and 35 guests