Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
adyb76
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:45 am

MRTG Not reporting accurately

Sat Sep 20, 2014 10:40 am

Hi,
I recently reinstalled mrtg onto a new server and set it up to monitor the traffic for our CCR edge router running ros 6.19.
I used the cfgmaker to create the config file, and having reviewed it I am happy that it is monitoring the correct interfaces.
The problem is that there is a magnitude of difference between the stats mrtg produces vs the routerboard graphs available on the web gui.
Mrtg reports a max of 173.1 mbit/s whereas the web gui graph reports 880.89 mbit/s whilst I am not expecting these to be the same, I was expecting them to be much closer.

Any ideas?

Ade
 
User avatar
CyberTod
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:23 am

Re: MRTG Not reporting accurately

Mon Sep 22, 2014 8:55 am

Maybe you are using 32bit counters. Use 64bit counters.
 
User avatar
aacable
Member
Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:58 am
Location: ISLAMIC Republic of PAKISTAN
Contact:

Re: MRTG Not reporting accurately

Thu Sep 25, 2014 10:11 am

Hi,
I recently reinstalled mrtg onto a new server and set it up to monitor the traffic for our CCR edge router running ros 6.19. I used the cfgmaker to create the config file, and having reviewed it I am happy that it is monitoring the correct interfaces. The problem is that there is a magnitude of difference between the stats mrtg produces vs the routerboard graphs available on the web gui. Mrtg reports a max of 173.1 mbit/s whereas the web gui graph reports 880.89 mbit/s whilst I am not expecting these to be the same, I was expecting them to be much closer.
Any ideas? Ade
If you have a fast router you might want to try to poll the 64bit counter. To adjust your target config in MRTG for 64 bit counter, you need to add :::::2 to the end (note: five colons).

Sample:
Target[10.0.0.1]: 2:community@10.0.0.1:::::2
or you can use interface oid too.
_____________
Regard's

Syed Jahanzaib
Web: http://aacable.wordpress.com
Email: aacable [at] hotmail.com
 
jfvelamoscoso
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 12:52 am
Location: Arequipa - Peru

Re: MRTG Not reporting accurately

Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:20 pm

The problem is that your graphs on mrtg are on bytes and on webgui are on bits.

I am facing the same problem now, any advice?
----------------------------------------
jfvelamoscoso@gmail.com
Network Engineer Noc Department
MTCNA, MTCTCE

If it helps please give some karma
 
joegoldman
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:05 am

Re: MRTG Not reporting accurately

Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:17 am

The problem is that your graphs on mrtg are on bytes and on webgui are on bits.

I am facing the same problem now, any advice?
Unlikely - the figures do not even closely match for this to be a possibility.

I like the idea of 32 bit vs 64 bit counters, If you are only polling every 5 minutes, it is possibly at 800+mbit/s the 32 bit counter is 0'ing out and starting from scratch making it back up to 170mbit before you poll it again, then continues.

At the end of your peak period (if you have one) does it suddenty jump up to match the right value? Or do you keep a pretty constant 600mbit/s + going through the interface?
 
jfvelamoscoso
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 12:52 am
Location: Arequipa - Peru

Re: MRTG Not reporting accurately

Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:23 pm

I made it work just changing from this:
Options[_]: growright,bits

To this:

Options[_]: bits,growright
----------------------------------------
jfvelamoscoso@gmail.com
Network Engineer Noc Department
MTCNA, MTCTCE

If it helps please give some karma

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dioeyandika, Google [Bot] and 51 guests