Page 1 of 1

CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN vlan preformance from wiki

Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2015 3:38 am
by dw5304
I went looking at vlan support on the unit and using the information located http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CRS_examples
under intervlan routing section then made use of the mikrotik bandwith test and its maxing out at a wooping 25Mbps.
is their something wrong with the crs125 firmware ?

running version 6.24 ros and firmware 3.19

Image

Re: CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN vlan preformance from wiki

Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2015 11:22 pm
by yarkin
Hi! I have same problem.
In one bridge I reached near 700 Mbps between 2 laptops with gigabit NIC by BTest with UDP.
But when I move one laptop to other VLAN (VLAN routed by this CRS) I found that speed is only near 15-20 Mbps, it's very low speed.

But if I disable 1Gbit modes (half- and full-duplex) on interfaces and link only 100 Mbps full-duplex -- I can reach all link's throughput. I then try to enable flow-control on 1 Gbps mode, but it not helps.

Re: CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN vlan preformance from wiki

Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 3:31 pm
by normis
why do you test with a single TCP connection and with a strange size packet (15'000)?
this doesn't reflect any realistic traffic on the device

Re: CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN vlan preformance from wiki

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:55 pm
by dw5304
it does not matter packet size. everything that is tossed at it has roughly the same rate though-put.
from 512 byte packets to whatever one would pick. It just happened the last thing i had open on the unit was the packet size above. I will be looking at dropping the nic speeds to 100 and see if the full 100mb speeds are obtained.

Re: CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN vlan preformance from wiki

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:07 pm
by mrphreak
I take it you are aware that all Inter VLAN traffic is passed through the CPU so you won't get wire speed??

Re: CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN vlan preformance from wiki

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:27 am
by dw5304
even if that is the case if the packet is being passed to the cpu i would still expect it to give me at least 500 mbps. not 8- 10mb
Image

Re: CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN vlan preformance from wiki

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:51 am
by bds1904
Did you configure vlans in the switch menu or through the regular routeros interface? Vlans configured through interfaces> vlan will be handled by the cpu not the switch chip.

Refer to the manuals for swos when configuring the vlans, the setup is exactly the same.

Routing between vlans will still be done by thr cpu if you configure the crs for that, which it really isn't meant to do real well. That mips cpu can only handle 300 mbps tcp or so. Although you could try enabling hardware fast-path. Don't know if it would do ananything for you.

Crs is meant to be a switch with limited l3 capabilities. IMHO it should be marketed as a smart switch with limited l3 capabilities because it is by no means a full l3 switch. It is lacking wire-speed inter-vlan routing.

Re: CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN vlan preformance from wiki

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:18 pm
by No13TGP
Have you tried changing the queue type for the master port? Change it from only-hardware-queue to default-ethernet
Image

Mikortik support once told me to change this for similar problems!

Re: CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN vlan preformance from wiki

Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:19 am
by dw5304
setting queue type to default-ethernet brought it up to 230mbps
thanks for the sugestion.