Community discussions

 
tjopsta
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:06 pm

RB750GL and IPTV (Telus Optik/MS Mediaroom)

Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:33 am

Hi All,


My issue is exactly the same as this one: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=62150

The difference is, we are now on OS version 6.29.1 (right...?) and we have the multicast module available

So I have the RB750GL router and I installed the multicast module. I have two Telus Optik STBs plugged into my network. One of them directly on port 3 in the router, another one at the end of two switches. (distributed through the house) and the end plugged into Port 2.

The problem I have is that the IPTV channel freezes after 10 seconds switching to it. Paul's problem (thread referred to above) was fixed by adding ACLs or something to the specific ports.... If possible I'd want to try and not have to do that. If possible I'd like to set this up so that regardless of how many STBs I have, or where they are plugged in (Even wirelessly... Telus now has a wireless STB), this will work.

So far I've set up the IGMP Proxy like this:

Image

and it seems like... it's doing something....

Image

but... I still have this problem. Sorry for my stupidity, but this level of networking goes waaaaay over my head. I'd really appreciate any type of help.

Thank you
 
tjopsta
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:06 pm

Re: RB750GL and IPTV (Telus Optik/MS Mediaroom)

Sun Jun 28, 2015 6:08 am

anyone? :( Really would like to get this working.
 
tjopsta
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:06 pm

Re: RB750GL and IPTV (Telus Optik/MS Mediaroom)

Sun Jun 28, 2015 8:53 pm

anyone got any ideas on this?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750GL and IPTV (Telus Optik/MS Mediaroom)

Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:52 am

as I see you have many clients connecting from one interface, the first thing to do is to check and disable fast-leave if it is set. As that setting can only be used if there is only one client connecting via that interface, as all that fast leave does is - when l it receives leave message on the interface it drops all group joins for that interface.

Next check if the wireless side is no not overrun by the multicast packets. If wifi interface is in AP mode/bridge and it is sending out the multicast packets it will do so in lowest possible data rate and default is 6mbps (for 5GHz interface with a/n/ac setting) you have to adjust that to be something higher if possible.
 
tjopsta
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:06 pm

Re: RB750GL and IPTV (Telus Optik/MS Mediaroom)

Mon Jun 29, 2015 6:32 pm

Hi there Janisk,

Thanks so much for your response.

I disabled quick leave, it was enabled. I'll have a look at the wireless, but for now I'm just focusing on Port 3, as that is where the STB is plugged into directly.

Tonight i'll check if it works and I'll reply to the thread. Would it make any difference if I make the port where the STB is plugged in not a slave of another port? IE It's not a slave port?

Thanks again for the help.
 
tjopsta
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:06 pm

Re: RB750GL and IPTV (Telus Optik/MS Mediaroom)

Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:42 am

Hi Janisk,

I actioned as instructed, but channels still freeze after 10 seconds. IGMP Proxy looks like this:

Image

and MFC:

Image

any next steps?
 
tjopsta
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:06 pm

Re: RB750GL and IPTV (Telus Optik/MS Mediaroom)

Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:45 am

just as an extra piece of information, port 3-5 is slaves of port 2, and port 2 is what my wifi bridge is bound to.
 
tjopsta
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:06 pm

Re: RB750GL and IPTV (Telus Optik/MS Mediaroom)

Fri Jul 03, 2015 6:40 pm

Does anyone have the time to spare to help me troubleshoot this? Pretty desperate to get this to work...
 
w0lt
Member
Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: RB750GL and IPTV (Telus Optik/MS Mediaroom)

Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:32 pm

If Mikrotik would only activate/install IGMP Snooping?

Maybe? 8)
MTCNA - 2011

" The Bitterness of Poor Quality Remains Long After the Sweetness of Low Price is Forgotten "

Image
 
tjopsta
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:06 pm

Re: RB750GL and IPTV (Telus Optik/MS Mediaroom)

Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:12 pm

Any way of getting this working without IGMP Snooping?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 117 guests