Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jp1981
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:54 am

High latency/ping on hAP lite

Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:48 pm

Hi everyone

This is the second time I am experiencing this issue.
The first time I was able to resolve it with a factory reset.

I will start with my setup.
I have one hAP lite which acts as the main router and is set to Home AP which is connected to my ADSL modem.
My second hAP lite is used in my office. and is set up to PTP bridge currently. I had it on CPE but since I started experiencing these issues I started experimenting.

The problem I am having is high latency from my hAP lite in my office to the other one. They are 2 rooms apart at the signal strength is ok. I have reset configuration a few times. Played with different wireless settings etc, nothing helps. The high latency is there permanent. I also used the reset button on the router itself to do a factory reset. I upgraded to the latest version as well.

Below a screenshot of some settings and the high ping. Could anyone advise where I could start troubleshooting this?
hap-lite.jpg
Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1734
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: High latency/ping on hAP lite

Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:16 am

Most probably you have another AP close by in exactly the same frequency or overlapping channel and when it uses data, you see increase in latencly.
You need to do a wireless scan and choose frequency that is not occupied by another AP.
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
jp1981
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:54 am

Re: High latency/ping on hAP lite

Tue Jul 07, 2015 9:24 am

Thanks @macgaiver

You were spot on. I changed the channel width from 2040 Ce to 20mhz and the latency dropped.
Not sure why the 20/40 wouldnt work anymore, as I had running like that previously.
Most probably you have another AP close by in exactly the same frequency or overlapping channel and when it uses data, you see increase in latencly.
You need to do a wireless scan and choose frequency that is not occupied by another AP.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: done411, Urajmal and 24 guests