User could just navigate to System > Packages > Check For Updates ever before that "shiny green" update notification was introduced. What is the difference? You have angst your colleagues accidentally update the device? Not having clicked on that green banner ever myself - but isn't this just a "shortcut" to the "Check For Updates" screen? User would still have to hit "Install".
But I have already foreseen it.